Just When You Thought I Was Done. . .

with *all* of the fungus photos, I found another cool fungus on my Silver Maple tree.
06Nov2006-002

It looks like there’s two different types of fungus. This tree is going to have to go sometime soon. I’m trying to make it last as long as I can because it will leave a major gap in my front yard.
There are tons of cones on the Norway Spruces. 06Nov2006-005

And my Tansy is still blossoming!

06Nov2006-006

These photos were taken on Monday when it was warm and sunny. Today was dark and stormy and I spent it over in Syracuse volunteering at OHA – editing photos to put on their website – some really cool old photos.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. endment
    Nov 08, 2006 @ 19:07:20

    Great fungi photos 🙂
    How nice to have tansey still blooming

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Nov 08, 2006 @ 20:21:22

    Thank you Endment! The tansy is in a protected area – I don’t expect it will last much longer, but I’m enjoying it’s beauty while it lasts!

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Nov 08, 2006 @ 21:32:31

    Tansies are such pretty flowers! Sandy at gardenpath posted pics of some a while ago and I’ve been looking for them since. Do they grow wild or have you planted them as seeds?

    Regarding your interest in fungi, you might like a look at the Niches blog. Wayne is a true botanist and often posts mushroom stuff.

    Hope the link works.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Nov 08, 2006 @ 21:42:14

    Laura – I got mine from my Mom’s plant – if I remember correctly she got hers as a plant. I get most of my herb plants from richters.com
    Ohhh, another plant blog to read – thank you. Now I have to figure out how you added a link in the comments section!

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Nov 08, 2006 @ 23:56:21

    That fungus looks like toasted marshmallow fluff!
    FYI: If that tree isn’t in any danger of falling on your house, consider keeping it up, or at least leave a “snag” by cutting off the branches and leaving the trunk. Since you are a “new” birder, it would be a good way to provide a home for woodpeckers (or screech owls!)

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Nov 09, 2006 @ 07:28:30

    Susan – Thanks for the tip – the Silver Maple is right near my home. I do see woodpeckers on the tree all of the time. I’m sad about it.

    Reply

  7. Lynne
    Nov 09, 2006 @ 09:55:03

    Those cones are amazing! It’s too bad you have to take down that silver maple, but you have to keep your house safe.

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Nov 10, 2006 @ 09:29:27

    Hi Lynne – I’m really sad about the Silver Maple – I’m trying to figure out the best time of year for nature to take it down. I bought the house because I love the trees around the house.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

