Happy Veterans Day

To all Veterans who served in any War, I hope you enjoy your holiday. That includes my Dad, who is a Veteran of the Korean War, and my brother, who is a Veteran of the Gulf War.

I can’t remember where I was reading about peace symbols yesterday, but I had no clue that the forked peace symbol was designed for the Campaign for Nuclear Disarmament in Britain. It was designed from the semaphoric signals for “N” and “D,” for Nuclear Disarmament.

peace_symbol

And then there is the V-sign you make with your index finger and middle finger. Used to symbolize peace in the 1960’s, it also symbolizes victory.

Sometimes I think we spent too much time in social studies when I was in school studying history rather than current events since I don’t remember learning about these symbols. I think that has changed now, fortunately, based on what I saw and heard as a judge this past March at Central New York History Day (and I’m looking forward to judging again in March 2007). Those students who win at this event go on to the New York State History Day event in Cooperstown, NY. Those who win at Cooperstown go to the National level. It’s quite cool!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Nov 11, 2006 @ 23:24:49

    And don’t forget when the first G. Bush flashed the “V” sign to a crowd in Australia, I think, and there it is considered offensive, like flipping the bird.

    Reply

  2. Sandy
    Nov 12, 2006 @ 10:02:05

    I knew about the second one, but not the first. Now, I am trying to think of some other symbols, commonly used here. Guess it is a good idea not to use them in other places, huh?

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Nov 12, 2006 @ 10:13:24

    Susan – yup, I’m glad you mentioned it – amazing isn’t it? Like father like son, no class.
    Sandy, let me know if you think of any others. These are the two I remember from the 60’s/70’s and I thought they were created by the 60’s hippies. Who knew?
    I worked with a contact worker once from England and if you say the word “fanny” to someone in England I guess it’s very offensive. He wouldn’t tell me why, so I still don’t know. I was trying to be nice and not say “ass” and I used “fanny” and that was worse to him!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

