Birds on a Wire, Tree Stuff

So I went grocery shopping today, and travelling down the highway I saw a double light full of birds with their feathers all puffed out. I couldn’t id them at 60 mph – today is one of those days that the sky has a comforter on itself, so they looked brown to me. As the light fixture gently slopes down to a point in the middle, it reminded me of the little bird movie that I’ve seen a million times on the Monsters, Inc. DVD, and it never fails to crack me up. Do you know the bird movie I’m referring to?

My Mom and Dad bought me some wonderful presents for my birthday. The first book is an excellent and quick read. After reading it, it makes me want to go out and plant trees all over the place.
TheManWhoPlantedTrees

The second book I’ve been drooling over since I first saw it at Barnes & Noble in Chandler, AZ in March. Last week when Mom and I were in B&N I picked it up because I love looking at the buttress roots. She said yesterday she wanted to yell at me in the store to put the book down!

TheTree

I simply love looking at trees from around the world, any shape, any size. I could spend the rest of my life in a forest, any forest, just give me a forest

And this last item is a calendar called “Tree” by James Balog, who also has a book by the same title:

tree

This is a large calendar and I’m thinking it will take a prime spot on one of my walls as if it were a piece of art instead of on the side of the fridge where my yearly calendar normally hangs.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Nov 13, 2006 @ 17:34:12

    Nice gifts, and that is a fine calendar. What are you reading first?

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Nov 13, 2006 @ 17:54:42

    Hi Sandy – I read “The Man Who Planted Trees” last night, and started reading “The Tree” last night and will continue tonight. I also rec’d “The Gods of Newport” by John Jakes from Amazon.com today and I’ve already started that so I’ll be reading both tonight. I thoroughly enjoy most of John Jakes’ novels.

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Nov 13, 2006 @ 21:37:25

    I do the same thing with calendars.
    I always get about 5 of them for Christmas (full of either birds or dogs and cats) and I pick the most “arty” one and put it up on the wall. And the others either go on the fridge or down here in the basement (I mean, my Office).
    I was looking at a tree ID book I got last year, that I somehow never got around to looking at. And I wish I lived where banyan trees are, or maybe swamp cypress.
    The Trees that have Knees!

    Reply

  4. Laura
    Nov 13, 2006 @ 21:49:36

    Wonderful gifts! I’ve been looking for books to put on my Xmas wish list.

    Blogger died again tonight, apparently. Luckily (?) after I got the post done that I’d worked on for two hours.

    ;-(

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Nov 14, 2006 @ 08:33:01

    Thank you Laura! There’s so many good books to request for presents, aren’t there!
    Worpress, I’ll keep saying wordpress. . .

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Nov 14, 2006 @ 08:34:43

    Hi Susan, I’m glad it’s not just me, some calendars deserve a prime spot on the wall – in fact with this calendar my Dad said “where’s the calendar?” They’ve done it so nice.
    Oh, I *love* trees with knees. Last I knew they don’t know what the knees are for, unless they are to help gain extra oxygen for the roots.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

