Weird Day, Beautiful Day

So it’s been pouring rain all day long – until a few minutes ago – the sun came out just before sunset – and made the trees sparkle:

16Nov2006-001

Okay, well the camera didn’t catch the sparkles on the trees. But it did catch this partial rainbow, which was only around long enough for me to capture a couple of photos:

16Nov2006-004

16Nov2006-005

I also took this opportunity to get the mail (I have to walk a little ways to get it) and saw a hawk on my way, but when I got the camera it flew away. Shoot, I wanted to show it and add another to my life list. The air was steaming, and the sunset lit up the sky to a bright orange. A weird day, but a beautiful day.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Nov 16, 2006 @ 17:48:59

    You saw the sun?? We have just had rain or fog all day. I too, have tried to photograph the water sparkling on trees, and last week,weeds. That is a hard thing to capture.
    I like the way the rainbow is seen through those curved branches. Nice.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Nov 16, 2006 @ 17:58:17

    Sandy – amazing isn’t it? Just for a few minutes – and I had to be outside to witness it in its full glory. Yesterday when I saw it behind the clouds while driving the first thing I thought of was the moon is out. I wish we could capture the sparkles – it was beautiful!

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Nov 16, 2006 @ 23:53:18

    What’s a sun?

    You live at the end of a rainbow!

    What kind of hawk, girl???

    Reply

  4. JLB
    Nov 17, 2006 @ 12:53:14

    What gorgeous photos! Nice catch on the rainbows. 🙂 I haven’t had much luck photographing birds of any kind… trees are much easier – they can’t fly away. 😀

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Nov 17, 2006 @ 16:13:43

    Hi Susan, I hear you – I saw some blue sky for a second today, but otherwise, nothing but thick comforter type clouds.
    I just haven’t found the pot of gold at the end of that rainbow yet though!
    Girlfriend, I’m so disappointed, if I could have gotten the photo, then I would have asked you about the hawk! Bummer!
    Hi JLB – Thank you! You’re right about trees – I guess that’s why I enjoy photographing them so much. Birds are such a challenge.

    Reply

  6. Jess
    Nov 17, 2006 @ 18:14:30

    Lovely photos; and your blog background & banner are so soothing!!!

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Nov 17, 2006 @ 18:58:07

    Hi Jess, Thank you! I fell in love with my blog’s theme when I took a blogging class.

    Reply

  8. Lynne
    Nov 18, 2006 @ 03:52:34

    Here in Minnesota we don’t get sunshine in November. At all. Never.

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Nov 18, 2006 @ 18:06:03

    Bummer Lynne. I thought I lived in a sunshine deprived area. I’m sending some sunshine your way. I’ve been missing your posts!

    Reply

  10. Crafty Green Poet
    Dec 11, 2006 @ 16:24:05

    The photos of the rainbow are magnificent. You really caught the quality of the light there.

    Reply

  11. Pam
    Dec 11, 2006 @ 20:31:40

    Thank you Crafty Green Poet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

