Happy Thanksgiving!!

I hope everyone that celebrates Thanksgiving has a happy day! This holiday is one of my favorites! Before I became a vegeterian, Turkey was my most favorite meat (well, it still is).

Wild_Turkey

My Aunt Ruth and I used to go to Plainville Turkey Farm Restaurant every Thursday night. In my opinion, this restaurant in Cicero NY is the best restaurant around because it is as close to a homemade meal as you can get besides making dinner at home. Unfortunately Aunt Ruth (and Great Aunt Ruth) was killed in a car accident over ten years ago, and I still miss her terribly. Aunt Ruth used to go to my parents’ home every Thanksgiving and we would play games until the wee hours of the morning. Two of our favorite games were Jenga and Bingo. I don’t mean to get maudlin on this happy day! Here’s a photo of my Grandmother and Great Grandmother and someone else at Plymouth Rock (I haven’t fixed this in Photoshop yet):

Ruth_Helen_Henrietta_Plymouth_Rock

I hope everyone enjoys this holiday, and gives thanks for their family, even though some of them can be a pain in the butt, because life is way too short. Enjoy!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laura
    Nov 23, 2006 @ 11:41:11

    The vegetables are the best part of the Thanksgiving meal anyway! You know, all those *special* dishes that are only served during the holidays.

    Happy feasting!

    Reply

  2. Susan Gets Native
    Nov 23, 2006 @ 21:45:37

    If you can’t have turkey, there’s always the ever-popular green bean casserole!
    🙂
    Hope your day was wonderful!
    (I just woke up a bit ago from a turkey-induced coma)

    Reply

  3. Sandy
    Nov 24, 2006 @ 11:51:47

    There is a place in Meredith, NH like that, called Hart’s Turkey Farm. You can get a nice homemade meal, in several different sizes. Why am I telling this to a vegetarian?? I hope you had a good day, and by the way, what did you eat, besides pie?

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Nov 25, 2006 @ 19:39:46

    Susan – you always crack me up! Green bean casserole – mmmmmm.
    Sandy – I love all of the turkey fixings. Plainville Turkey Farm Restaurant has a buffet, so I can get all of the fixings I want without the turkey. I had garlic potatoes, baked squash, baked beans (homemade), cabbage salad, peas, cranberry sauce, stuffing. That’s it. That filled me up!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Nov 25, 2006 @ 19:44:03

    Laura – oh yeah, I love the side vegetables very much. Nothing like squash and potatoes. Your brussel sprouts sound really good, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

