Georgia O’Keefe, My America

Today Mom and I went back to the Georgia O’Keefe Color and Conservation exhibition at the Memorial Art Gallery, which was as excellent as it was the first time.

Another exhibition opened at the Memorial Art Gallery between the last time we saw the Georgia O’Keefe exhibition and today entitled My America which is artwork from The Jewish Museum Collection done between 1900-1955. This painting by Henry Koerner ripped my heart out of my chest and I haven’t been able to get it back in yet:

Koerner Henry - My Parents EX2006.GG4.31

It is a entitled My Parents I, done in 1944, a tempera on masonite painting of the artist’s parents done three years after they were murdered in a concentration camp. The ball of yarn winding around the chandelier represents something, damned if I remember exactly what because I was too emotional about this painting to remember what the label said. Which is another reason for museums to put their musuem exhibitions online.

On a much happier note, it was another gorgeous day today. It’s hard to believe it’s the end of November!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Nov 26, 2006 @ 22:13:15

    I learn so much on your blog! I am not an art nut, but there are things I like to look at. I googled Henry Koerner, and I learned the term “magic realism”. And that much of his work is coming from the guilt he carried being the only survivor of his family.
    Thanks for the painting.
    It’s been nice here, too. It was 65 and sunny today…but the creepy weatherman on our local channel says there are “changes” coming. Damn.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Nov 27, 2006 @ 08:58:38

    Susan, I’m not an art nut either, but certain pieces get to me, like this one. Thanks for the info on Henry Koerner – I’ll find out from my Mom what the meaning of the yarn around the chandelier is.
    Yeah, the weather is going to change here too – enjoy this week!

    Reply

  3. Sandy
    Nov 27, 2006 @ 17:25:30

    I see what you mean. I guess really good art is supposed to grab you.

    We had a nice day, too. I think we may get through November with no snow.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Nov 27, 2006 @ 19:19:20

    Sandy, Most times I’m not “grabbed” by artwork – I think “that’s nice” and move on. But this one got me bad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

