Aboreality – Tree Blogging – Cool!

I don’t really pay attention to numbers as far as my personal blog goes, or who has me on their blogroll, etc. because I write this blog as a journal for me to refer back to to see what I’ve been up to and to make sure I’ve been up to enough (which I haven’t but that will change). But I couldn’t ignore this when I saw Aboreality – Tree Blogging had linked to me since I’m a major tree hugger (in case you haven’t guessed). JLB linked to my post about sparkling trees – thank you JLB! And now I have another new blog to read, and from that blog many more, I’m sure! How cool is this blogging world of nature lovers?

And just for you JLB and other tree huggers, here’s one of my favorite trees (I have lots of favorites) – Dawn Redwood (Metasequoia glyptostroboides) – I love everything about this tree – it’s shape, it’s trunk, it’s foliage, and it’s latin name! This photo was taken at Morris Arboretum on May 1, 2005.
MA-HT2005 194 Dawn Redwood

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Dec 02, 2006 @ 21:45:54

    I have never seen trees that look more like feathers!

    I want one…how do they do in Zone 6?

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Dec 03, 2006 @ 09:55:30

    Oh Susan, feathers, that’s a wonderful description. No wonder I love this tree’s shape and foliage – they do look like feathers.
    We have them in NY and they do good. I’ll have to dig out my Dirr book and blog more about this tree (oh heart break). They do get very tall! I figure if I plant one to replace my Silver Maple I wouldn’t have to worry about the height before I croak!

    Reply

  3. JLB
    Dec 03, 2006 @ 11:53:22

    Thank YOU Pam! Beautiful trees – I’m glad you could join us for the festival. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Dec 03, 2006 @ 12:01:53

    Hi JLB – thanks! I love your tree festival – I’ll keep coming back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

