Up-Tree Photo

I love standing at the base of a huge tree, and looking straight up and taking a photo. This tree is located in Mount Hope Cemetery – which I am planning on blogging about someday soon – and you’ll see why when I do. If you’re thinking – ‘ew, she’s going to blog about tomstones?’ – don’t worry. It will be about trees. And maybe a couple of the interesting tombstones.

This is an old white oak, I’ll have to measure the DBH next time I’m there, but it is one of my many favorite trees in this cemetery. This photo was taken August 25, 2004:
Mount_Hope_Cem_006_08252004

The tree looks like it’s holding its arms out to hug us! Seeing the green leaves makes me realize how much I already miss them!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne
    Dec 03, 2006 @ 11:18:05

    OK tree queen, what’s DBH?
    Hurry with the cemetery post! I LOVE cemeteries! I like looking up through trees too. We have a hammock in the back yard that I park under our old soft maple tree. It’s the perfect place to sway and watch birds, the sky and the millions of shades of green as the light filters through the leaves.
    I really love your blog!

    Reply

  2. Lynne
    Dec 03, 2006 @ 11:25:48

    Oh- BTW, I ordered a used copy of “Fern Finder” on your recomendation! I also found and ordered “The Ferns and Fern Allies of Minnesota”. I’ll have this winter to study and hope to start cataloging the ferns at Hasty Brook next spring! I can’t wait to show you what I find. Thank you for the help!

    Reply

  3. Louise
    Dec 03, 2006 @ 11:26:39

    I, too, take photos looking up into trees.

    I found your site through Cindy (great person!) Mead.

    I look forward to reading more about your visit to the cemetery.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Dec 03, 2006 @ 11:59:57

    Thanks Lynne! DBH is diameter breast height. What a great place to have your hammock – how wonderful it must be to lie there looking up at nature!
    I can’t *wait* to see the ferns you find at Hasty Brook! What fun!
    Hi Louise! I love Cindy’s blog / website – she has the most beautiful photos. I just saw your website – I’ll be browsing your store. Do you have a blog?

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Dec 03, 2006 @ 23:03:06

    Anyone want to know MY diameter breast height?

    *Sorry, Pam…I couldn’t resist.

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Dec 04, 2006 @ 08:45:19

    Susan – hee hee – you’re always making me laugh. And you know it had to be some man that came up with dbh. This is how I envision it – some horny foresters out in the woods attempting to standardize how to measure the diameter of trees – let’s measure them around the trunk at the height of the breasts. I guess it’s better than diameter nipple height since men don’t have breasts. Still I’m shorter than men so whose “breasts” do you measure by when you’re out in the woods together? The whole thing is really embarassing to me when I’m working with men, so I just put the DBH tape up somewhere around my upper chest area and call it good.

    Reply

  7. Lynne
    Dec 04, 2006 @ 21:54:06

    Hey Pam- I just got a giggle watching TV. I saw a preview for a new TV show called “Men in trees” and I thought of you!

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Dec 05, 2006 @ 10:10:21

    Lynne — hee hee – it makes me laugh too – it makes me think of monkeys in trees – I wonder what the show is about?  Men in Trees measuring DBH?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

