1874 U.S. Postage Stamp Website! & The World of Ornament

This is so cool! I found out about a website that shows all of the U.S. Stamps from 1874 to 1970. I love old stamps, in case you couldn’t have guessed from my Inverted Jenny stamp blog post, so it’s really fun to go through these. I can imagine using them for my personal scrapbooking! I love the old fashioned Christmas stamps like this one from 1969:
1384

Of course anything to do with nature, like this John Muir stamp from 1964:

1245

And then there’s a Grandma Moses stamp from 1969:

1370

What about you, do you like commemorative postage stamps? By the way, my older brother just told me the Inverted Jenny stamp turned out to be a hoax. Alrighty then. People with not enough good, constructive stuff to do drive me crazy.

I think this book will remain on my wish list for quite a while given its high price – The World of Ornament which comes with a DVD of unrestricted use, high resolution scans wherein you can print out any design you wish – imagine the scrapbooking and crafts you could do with the designs from this book!
The World of Ornament

So much to do, so little time!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Dec 06, 2006 @ 17:30:59

    I remember that one from 1969!! I like old stamps, too, especially flowers and christmas ones.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Dec 06, 2006 @ 19:01:43

    Me too Sandy! I think they’re works of art.

    Reply

  3. endment
    Dec 06, 2006 @ 21:41:13

    Thanks for the link — I have a lot of my fathers stamps – perhaps I will be able to do some sorting 🙂

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Dec 07, 2006 @ 09:31:51

    You’re welcome Endment. I hope you enjoy sorting your father’s stamps – what a great winter project. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

