Roof Rakes for Snow

I try very hard to buy local, but when I run around to 50 (okay four, oh alrighty then, three) different home supply stores to look for a roof rake to keep the snow off of my home’s roof this winter, and I get the answer, we don’t carry them, we don’t have them yet, what’s a roof rake, blah blah blah, then I go to the Internet. And I found Roof Rakes online, at no other than roofrake.com

roof_rakegd

While I hate paying for shipping, I have wasted who knows how much in gas and time, and I don’t have to pay tax because it is out of state. I’m sure it has to be a nightmare being a retailer and trying to keep up with peoples’ demands, but it seems that I’m always heading towards the Internet for my various needs. Oh well. I tried! I did however pick up some birdseed and some reflectors at one of the stores, so all was not lost!

Do you use a roof rake to keep the snow off of your roof? This is the first winter I’m trying one and I’m curious if they really work.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. endment
    Dec 06, 2006 @ 20:43:58

    Great idea – I am curious – let us know how you like it.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Dec 06, 2006 @ 21:03:18

    I’ll let you know Endment. Supposedly it helps prevent ice build up, which has been my problem for 15 years now (I have a Cape Cod style house with no eaves). I’m saving for a new roof next year which will include whatever it takes to help prevent ice build-up, but in the meantime I need to make it through this winter.
    My parents are curious too, so I’ll be bringing it over to them to try it out on their roof, too.

    Reply

  3. Laura
    Dec 06, 2006 @ 21:50:12

    I never heard of them either, but have seen people talk about removing snow from their roofs and always wondered how they did it.

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Dec 06, 2006 @ 23:06:51

    I have heard of them, but we don’t have a problem with snow on the roof. We have one of those cookie-cutter mid-90’s houses that has very steep eaves.
    But I have heard that removing the snow can really save you from ice damage later on in the winter, so I say go for it!
    (It’s easier to spend someone else’s money, isn’t it?)

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Dec 07, 2006 @ 09:30:56

    Laura – I have too, so I investigated it and I guess this is how to do it. I’ll let everyone know.
    Susan – I have an older home and even though it’s built well, I can’t deal with the ice build up anymore – hopefully this will help!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

