Happy Poinsettia Day! Ducks

I’ll take any excuse to wish everyone a happy day! I need to go to one (or more) of my local conservatories to see their Poinsettia displays to show you sometime. I can’t believe I don’t have any poinsettia photos in my digital archive. That needs to change!

For now, I have a photo of ducks that look like they have funky hair-doos. This photo was taken in the Adirondacks in September of 2004.

IMG_0341

Do you know what kind of ducks these are?

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lorianne
    Dec 12, 2006 @ 17:30:09

    Those look like female common mergansers:

    http://www.mbr-pwrc.usgs.gov/id/framlst/i1290id.html

    Reply

  2. Susan Gets Native
    Dec 12, 2006 @ 23:48:49

    Darn…she beat me to it.
    Cool bird to see! Did you put it on your list?

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Dec 13, 2006 @ 09:50:13

    Thank you Lorianne!
    Susan – I knew you would know too, of course! I didn’t see it in person so it wouldn’t count for my list, right?

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Dec 14, 2006 @ 00:39:17

    No, it doesn’t count. I thought you took the photo.
    But they are “common” so you will eventually. Aren’t they beautiful? Wait until summer and you will see them in their full breeding plumage. And the males are even more gorgeous.

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Dec 14, 2006 @ 08:39:08

    Susan, I should have mentioned I didn’t take the photo – sorry! I’ll be watching for them this summer. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

