Common Merganser (Mergus merganser)

Thanks to Lorianne, she id’d the ducks in the photo in my previous blog entry (and I know Susan would have too if she were here first) as the female Common Merganser Mergus merganser. Lorianne also gave me this link. I have to say, to whoever names birds, animals, plants, trees, etc. etc. that I simply *hate* the word “Common” before any of the *ahem* common names of God’s creatures. I guess it means there’s plenty of them around, but I still don’t like it. Period. I don’t think there’s anything common about this duck to this very casual birder. I love its long, thin bill, and the stuff flying out from the back of the females’ heads – the crest.
IMG_0339

I love learning new things! Thanks again for your help!

Leave a Reply

