Flat Stanley, also known as, Flat Christopher

This is so cool! I received a letter from a second grader named Flat Christopher. Here’s the letter. I removed his address to prevent bad people from sending him naughty things.
FlatChristopher-1a

Here’s an illustration of Flat Christopher:

FlatChristopher-2

Too cute!!

Here’s the letter I wrote back to Flat Christopher. I hope I didn’t bore him to tears. I don’t really identify with children, not having had any of my own.

December 13, 2006

Dear Flat Christopher,

I live in ****, New York. **** is on the south shore of Lake Ontario. Lake Ontario is one of the five Great Lakes. It is a fresh water lake. Here is a map of the five Great Lakes.

GreatLakes

There is a park called **** Park on the shore of Lake Ontario. I took pictures of the lake. You can see water forever. If you cross this lake going north, you would end up in Canada.

163820165_5f0ac520c6_b

Here is a picture of the pier at **** Park. This is one of the places I like to go fishing.

163820965_058abd8535_b

Some days you can see sailboats on the lake. It is always windy here so sailing is very good. The day I took these photos it was very windy. You can see water spraying up on the shoreline.

163817080_61c50ba7ba_b

Sincerely Yours,

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Dec 13, 2006 @ 17:21:19

    You wrote a very nice letter. Teachers have such interesting ideas now, I can’t imagine our class doing anything like that.

    I wonder where Flat Stanley will go this year?

    Reply

  2. Lynne
    Dec 13, 2006 @ 18:55:29

    Both of my kids did the Flat Stanley project. We took Flat Stanley to Germany with us when Molly was in second grade. She made a poster and album, took pictures of Stanley with the pilots, in the Alps, with her German relatives etc. Flat Stanley even had a passport! Molly had lots of fun. Your letter is terrific and I’m sure that child will be thrilled.

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Dec 13, 2006 @ 19:06:41

    Thank you Sandy. Yes, school sounds really fun these days. So far Flat Stanley has been in Mass., Phoenix, Chicago, and now with me. I’ll be sending him to South Carolina. Who knows where he’ll end up from there!
    That is so cool Lynne! Sounds like lots of fun. Thanks for saying the letter is terrific!

    Reply

  4. Laura
    Dec 13, 2006 @ 22:29:49

    I think your letter is great – just the right mix of info and pics to grab their interest.

    Neat project! How’d they pick you?

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Dec 14, 2006 @ 00:36:51

    Zzzzzzzzzzzzz…..
    *snort*
    *rousing myself*
    Oh, Pam! Hi! No, I didn’t drift off, reading your letter. Honest.
    🙂

    What a cute idea. I remember chain letters from my youth, and always participated. I wonder how far MY letters got?
    I hope I get a Flat Christopher letter.

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Dec 14, 2006 @ 08:44:08

    Thanks Laura! Flat Christopher sent it to someone he knows, then it went to my Uncle’s sister, then my Uncle, then my Mom, then me (even though we live close I said I wanted to do something) then I’ll send it to my cousin who is a schoolteacher and I’m sure she’ll send it to all of her schoolteacher friends.
    Ha ha Susan – you’re too funny! Oh yeah, I remember chain letters – you needed to send Flat Susan around to see how far your letters got! That would be cool if you got a Flat Christopher letter. I haven’t sent it to my cousin yet if you want me to send it to you!

    Reply

  7. Susan Gets Native
    Dec 14, 2006 @ 22:19:48

    Oh, no, that’s okay. Send it to your cousin. Being a teacher, she will write a better response than I could. (you know me…can’t be serious for 2 minutes)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

