Sugar Maple (Acer saccharum), Asian Longhorned Beetle

I have spent an inordinate amount of time studying trees and their different features (and still do when I get a chance). I actually learned to love trees without leaves because identifying them this way is actually easier for me – get rid of that leaf so I can look at the leaf scar, end bud, etc. As I was studying trees, I also took lots of photos to aid in my studying and I have some favorite trees in various locations around the State. Here’s one of my favorite Sugar Maple Acer saccharum trunks found in Woodlawn Cemetery in Canandaigua, NY:

Acer-saccharum

What’s not to love about this tree? I love it’s shape – it looks like it’s just waiting for a hug.

I also spent a lot of time studying insects, especially the one that was accidentally imported and is attacking our Sugar Maples (along with other trees). If I saw this Asian Longhorned beetle Anoplophora glabripennis in my yard you would hear me scream around the world – this insect is so ugly, huge and those long horns – yuck yuck yuck. Here’s a good identification website.

adult

Here in NY if you see one of these uglies, you’re supposed to bottle it and take it to your County’s Cornell Cooperative Extension. I would have to fight my natural reaction to wack it to death and beyond with a shovel (I don’t like the feeling of squishing exoskeleton with my foot). I hope I never run into one of these bad boys. {{{shiver}}}

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Dec 14, 2006 @ 22:23:29

    Eeeeeeeeeeeeek!
    I am so not a bug person. I would like to think that I could keep my wits about me and bottle one if I found it, but I don’t know…

    Reply

  2. Lynne
    Dec 15, 2006 @ 01:39:50

    If I saw that bug you’d probably hear me screaming all the way from here!

    You’d need a pretty big bottle to get that thing contained.

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Dec 15, 2006 @ 09:41:04

    Neither am I Susan! I respect them, and I do best when they respect me and keep away from me.
    That’s for sure Lynne! I think I would want one of my big herb bottles with a wide mouth instead of the little bug catcher jar I have.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

