Insects, Worms

Don’t get me wrong, I am not a screamer as my previous blog post may imply. I’m not even much of a talker. But I DO NOT DO CREEPY, CRAWLY INSECTS.

My Mom relayed this story to me just the other day. Once when I was little she heard me screaming bloody murder – her typically very quiet, content little girl, screaming bloody murder. She ran outside and saw me screaming and jumping up and down. There was a gypsy moth caterpillar *on* *my* *dress* and of course jumping up and down did not disturb it. She wiped it off for me. Something I could have done myself *if* I was okay with touching that ugly caterpillar.

This dislike of insects seems to be hereditary. I couldn’t believe it when my Mom told me this story, because I remember reading a letter my Grandmother wrote to my Aunt (my Dad’s sister) where *the* *exact* *same* scenario had occurred with my Aunt – the caterpillar on the dress, screaming, Grandmother running out to wipe it off

So yes, I have the dislike of insects gene. When I took entomology I really tried to be cool in lab when everyone around me was dissecting and disemboweling insects. It was hard to not run from the room

I did not get the dislike of insects gene from my paternal grandfather however, because he used to remove gypsy moth nests from trees *with* *his* *bare* hands. I couldn’t even stand to watch him do that. It would make my stomach lurch

I do have the curiosity gene as shown by the following photo where I’m checking out a worm after a rainstorm.

Pam-worm

Worms are on the borderline of yucky and okay. Yucky if they’re *on* me, but okay if they’re busy doing their job in my garden.

P.S. There’s another story for another day as to why I’m wearing pants in this photo instead of a dress.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Dec 15, 2006 @ 16:42:23

    I can’t stand worms or snakes! Even photos in a book make my skin crawl. Odd for a gardener, isn’t it?

    Reply

  2. Lynne
    Dec 15, 2006 @ 17:30:33

    That is THE CUTEST picture of you! What’s the story behind that little hat?

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Dec 15, 2006 @ 18:40:57

    Sandy – oh my, I thought it was just me. I don’t mind snakes, though – I don’t know. I don’t think it’s odd at all. I should love beneficials, which I do as long as their minding their own business.
    Thanks Lynne! I’ll have to ask my Mom about that particular hat.

    Reply

  4. Laura
    Dec 15, 2006 @ 22:00:21

    I love the pic too!

    Lately I’ve become really interested in bugs, but admit to being creeped out if there’s lots together!

    Bugs are beautiful!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Dec 15, 2006 @ 22:04:46

    Thanks Laura! It was a tough photo to work with in Photoshop because it was really faded.
    Yuck-o – lots of bugs together makes my skin crawl.
    They’re beautiful if they mind their own business and don’t fly or crawl on me!
    It was interesting to study bugs and learn the different bug bodies as long as I didn’t have to touch them.

    Reply

  6. Susan Gets Native
    Dec 15, 2006 @ 22:57:06

    What a little cutie!

    I’m intrigued about the no-dress story!

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Dec 16, 2006 @ 09:22:35

    Thanks Susan! I’ll tell you about the dress – pants story in another post!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

