Seneca Falls, NY Ladies!

I was so sad the other night when I was watching Jeopardy, a woman got a double jeopardy, and the answer was something like – “This N.Y. city is known as the Birthplace of Women’s Rights” – (sorry I don’t remember the exact wording of the answer). The woman’s question? “What is New York City?” New. York. City. I have to calm down before I continue.

Okay, that was a gimme answer, I thought. But then I got to thinking, is it only because I live in Upstate New York that I know that Seneca Falls was the birthplace of Women’s Rights? And that New York City is just a very small portion of New York State size-wise, and is NOT the birthplace of Women’s Rights. That Susan B. Anthony was from Rochester, NY and is buried in Mt. Hope Cemetery (I know, I owe you a Mt. Hope Cemetery post). And she didn’t live long enough to see women finally obtain the vote. The Women’s Rights Park in Seneca Falls is a National Park. There is also a National Women’s Hall of Fame in Seneca Falls. Here’s a link to more historical information on the Seneca Falls NY website.

I found this at the Library of Congress – the Roll of Honor containing the signatures on the Declaration of Sentiments:
Declaration of Sentiments

Not only were the five women organizers of the Seneca Falls convention concerned about Women’s Rights, but they were part of the Abolitionist movement, too. Which is another important Upstate New York topic. Notice Frederick Douglass’ name on the document above.

Women in the U.S. of A. owe it to themselves to do even just a quick study of where we’ve come from – we had NO rights – NONE, NADA, ZIP, ZILCH – and be thankful to the people who worked so hard to bring us to where we are now.

And if you’re looking for some good mystery books written about this time period and area, check out the books written by Mariam Grace Monfredo: Seneca Falls Inheritence and North Star Conspiracy. I highly recommend these books!

P.S. I just noticed all of these cool exhibitions at the LOC about Abolition and Suffrage. Here’s a photo of Susan B. Anthony and Elizabeth Cady Stanton from LOC:

Susan B. Anthony & Elizabeth Cady Stanton

P.P.S. I just remembered another website definitely worth spending some time looking through: Western New York Suffragists: Winning the Vote

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Dec 22, 2006 @ 10:27:59

    I knew she was from New York, but not where!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Dec 22, 2006 @ 15:03:25

    Sandy, I didn’t know Susan B. Anthony was buried at Mt. Hope Cemetery until I started taking walks through there.

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Dec 22, 2006 @ 23:57:26

    I like the festive look of your blog!

    I am so thankful to those women who fought for the right to vote. Ever seen the HBO movie “Iron Jawed Angels”? I got so fired up when I first saw that!
    Rock on, Ladies!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Dec 23, 2006 @ 08:49:35

    Thanks Susan! I wish I discovered it a little earlier since it is only usuable for another couple of days.
    I’ve never seen “Iron Jawed Angels”! I got fired up a few years ago and read a few books, visited Seneca Falls, etc. What those ladies did and put up with, it’s amazing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

