1947-8 or 1948-9 Winter Photo from driveway on LaFayette Rd. LaFayette, NY

I’m not dreaming of a white Christmas or anything, but this lack of snow at this time of year in my part of the world is quite unusual. And while I don’t want a blizzard like Denver had, I would like a little snow at Christmas. It just doesn’t feel like Christmas without snow. So here’s another short story from my Dad showing my Dad as a young man and some of the huge piles of snow we used to get in the place where I grew up.

Written by my Dad, January 2006
LaFayette, NY

The driveway had drifted to a depth of 3.5 feet +/-. This is the result of some “new snow” together with an intense wind. Shoveling by hand was effective, but labor intensive. The “shoveler” pictured here (my Dad) has not suffered as he is 75 years young and still going. The address above is about 5/8 of a mile north of the south termination of LaFayette Rd. at Route 20.

LaFayette_Snow_47-48-49

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Dec 23, 2006 @ 10:25:42

    We are getting rain today. Great old photo. The snow looked like that in the small town up on the Canadian border (Jackman) where my husband’s family lived when he was in high school.

    It doesn’t look like we will be having any snow in the next few days, how about you?
    Merry Christmas from Maine!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Dec 23, 2006 @ 11:03:51

    Hi Sandy, We got rain yesterday – today it’s sunny and 50 degrees F. There isn’t any snow in the forecast – bummer! I just saw stats on PBS that we had 19″ of snow last Dec and an average of 28 degrees F. Brrrrr! I knew this December was abnormal, but I didn’t know just how much.
    Merry Christmas from New York State!

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Dec 24, 2006 @ 00:36:15

    I have never ever seen snow like that. The closest I have come is the Blizzard of 1977-78, here in Ohio. We only got about 2-3 feet of snow, but the temp got down to -10, and the winds got as high as 60 mph.
    I only like snow when I don’t have to go anywhere.
    Brrr….your post made my feet cold.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Dec 24, 2006 @ 08:33:33

    No Susan? You’re definitely deprived! Only kidding. Yeah, it’s the wind chill and the wind itself that makes snow so much nastier.
    I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to make your feet cold! Sending nice warm footsies for your cold feet.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

