The Weather

Usually people talk to me about the weather when they have nothing else to say. I personally don’t care what the weather is, as long as I can do what I want to do and go where I want to go. But the weather has been very strange lately. So I’m gonna talk about it.

When I was growing up, my Dad and I went downhill skiing at least twice a week for one of our many winter activities. His rule was December was for building the base of snow on the ski slopes so we couldn’t ski and take the chance of harming our skiis (no matter how much snow and beggin’ on my part) until January 1st – yay! The chemical snow (snow making) wouldn’t kick in until early March, when the snow started melting and they had to patch certain spots on the ski slopes. And I hate chemical snow, because it doesn’t feel right under my skiis, and it makes my face burn. So I’m wondering, how the heck would this work now? We have absolutely no snow, not even a little flake on the ground (okay now we have two flakes, it snowed overnight and I wrote this post yesterday). Do they make chemical snow now, even though it isn’t cold enough for real snow?

December of 2003 was a real hard December – very cold and snowy (how well I remember it because I was taking outdoor classes and had to buy very warm clothing), but on January 3, 2004 we went for a hike at Hi-Tor. It was 65 degrees F that day – a perfect day for a hike. You can see the ice on the cliff face near the water falls:
5_Hi_Tor_Waterfall_010304_sm

And if you turn around 180 degrees you can see Canandaigua Lake in the distance through the trees:

No snow anywhere. So the rule of snow in December building the base for January skiing has been tossed out the window. It would have to snow quite a bit for me to want to go down any ski slope now. I’m glad I haven’t invested in new ski equipment, I would be disappointed – or would have to travel far to find some good skiing. By the way, I love the Finger Lakes region of NY, and the Bristol Hills is one of my favorite places to hike, although I have lots of fav places. What about you? Where do you like to hike? Do you like to snow ski – either downhill or cross-country?

P.S.  Sorry for the yucky photos – these were taken with my old original digital camera.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Dec 27, 2006 @ 11:02:00

    Still no snow here either, along the coast, but there was some inland two days ago. I have never skied at all, but my husband did when he was young. Do you ever use snowshoes? That is what I have done the most, since I came to Maine. Beautiful shots.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Dec 27, 2006 @ 11:05:35

    Hi Sandy – oh yes, I forgot about snowshoeing – that’s one of the things I do now that I live in a relatively flat part of NY State. This and cross-country skiing. It’s snowing very lazily now.

    Reply

  3. mon@rch
    Dec 27, 2006 @ 13:14:47

    I have snowboarded since 1989 which I think was the first year they allowed snowboarding at Holiday Valley. I also wait until after the holidays to start boarding unless conditions are perfect to be out Cross Country Skiing here in Allegany. I doubt that I will be out doing any of which this season.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Dec 27, 2006 @ 13:34:44

    Hi Mon@rch – snowboarding is something I don’t get, maybe if I got some instruction I would understand it. I like my legs to be independent of each other. Holiday Valley looks like a nice place to ski – I’ve been by there several times but never stopped to ski. I hear we’re supposed to get blasted with snow. I’m waiting. . .

    Reply

  5. Mary
    Dec 27, 2006 @ 19:16:23

    I don’t ski or snowboard but sure miss the snow. I haven’t seen a snowfall since we lived in DE in 05. The last big one I saw was in 03. It’s an unusually dry and warm winter. I heard that holidays sales are way down since no one needs sweaters or flannel PJs. Global warming is to blame.

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Dec 27, 2006 @ 20:17:17

    Hi Mary – I don’t know if I could live in an area that didn’t have snowfall. When I go on vacation in Arizona, I actually get tired of continuous day after day of sunshine all day long. Wow – that’s not good that we’re not buying our share of sweaters or PJs. I know I haven’t.

    Reply

  7. Susan Gets Native
    Dec 27, 2006 @ 22:22:46

    I haven’t been on skis since I was 16, back when I was a hot ticket and alot more limber. We lived close to Perfect North Slopes, near Lawrenceburg, Indiana. I was never a “swish, swish” type of skier, either. More like, “GET THE HELL OUT OF MY WAY…I CAN’T STEER THESE DAMN THINGS!”

    BTW: the Finger Lakes region…I got to see them back in 1999, when Geoff and I and another couple went to Woodstock ’99. What a beautiful place…I would rather have went on an adventure in the woods around the lakes, than get ripped off and sunburned and dehydrated at Woodstock.

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Dec 27, 2006 @ 22:41:44

    LOL Susan!!! I don’t swish swish either because I love going straight down the hill as fast as I can (I know how to swish swish, it’s just a snore). Not to say that hasn’t caused a couple of problems – no broken bones at all just some major head over heels over head over heels type falls – with my Dad watching from behind to grab my wandering skiis – which always fell off like they’re supposed to.
    Yeah, I do love those Finger Lakes and the hills surrounding them.

    Reply

  9. Mary
    Dec 28, 2006 @ 09:17:16

    Pam,

    There is truth in the phrase “Carolina Blue Skies”. It’s very nice! But I’ve been hear for over a year now and as much as I enjoy sunny weather, I do get tired of it day after day. I haven’t told that to anyone around here yet as they would think I’m crazy. Charlotte received 10 inches of snow a few years ago. I am waiting…

    Reply

  10. Pam
    Dec 28, 2006 @ 13:14:13

    Mary, I’m glad it’s not just me. I do love sunshine, but I do like a change in the sky scene once in a while. When it’s overcast and cold, it makes me want to curl up with a good book. I’m still waiting for snow here, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

