Don’t Wanna, Don’t Make Me!

There was a woman who worked for me at one time who used to come into my office saying that. Funny thing is, she was just letting off steam, because she was the best worker I had. But it’s a saying I’ve picked up when I really don’t want to do something. I signed up to take a State test next week, and I need to study for it. I don’t really have a clue what to study (they don’t have a study guide for this test), but I’ve been told to study plant diseases and damaging insects and their lifecycles. Another part of the test is to see how well I can write, how well I can read spec sheets and comprehend them. I hate tests. I hate tests when I don’t know the format of the test. I wish they would take my GPA and work history and realize that I know my stuff and I work hard. Hokay, now that I got that off my chest, I’m ready to go study, maybe. . . the pile of books I have is really daunting. . . To get me started, here’s a photo of Tent Caterpillars of the Lepidoptera order. They make my skin crawl just looking at them here.
Eastern_Tent_Caterpillar-Lepidoptera

On another subject, I went shopping this morning since I was down to hardly anything to eat, and stopped to look at the candles. Julie Z. had mentioned some natural soy candles that she likes, and I think I found what she was talking about. Always looking for a good deal I didn’t buy them yet, but I noted the store price and the website, which is sunbeamcandles.com. Mmmm they all sound like they would smell gooooood (the ones they had in the store did). I think I might start with the Pine Needles & Cedarwood scented one, or the Ylang Ylang, Patchouli & Pine Needles (I *love* patchouli and pine needles). Or the Cinnamon & Clove candle. Decisions, decisions. By the way, the candles were more reasonable at my local store than they are on this website. So when I run out of food again, I think I’ll pick up a candle. I love candlelight during this time of year. How about you, do you like candles? Which scents do you like?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Dec 28, 2006 @ 19:48:40

    First of all, I like your whole post. “Don’t wanna – don’t make me” HA! How many times have we felt like that in our lives??? Testing taking is a drag, especially when you don’t know what to expect. I am sure you will ace it.

    I love to burn candles – not only during the holidays – but all year round. I pick up cheap ones, like ones from Target if I like the scent. My husband treats me with Yankee candles quite often and I like them, too. I’m not into candles that smell like food much – I prefer fresh linen, rain, ocean, lilac, rose, and lately mistleto and pine scents.

    Thanks for researching the soy candles that Julie talked about. I’ll look for them, too, when I’m out and about!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Dec 28, 2006 @ 22:29:34

    Too many times, Mary!! Thanks for the confidence – I could have aced it right out of school, but the state didn’t offer the test then. So now I have to refresh.
    Oh yeah, I love the fresh linen candle, too – my friend burns that scent and it’s really nice. You’re welcome for the candle info! I hope you find them in your area!

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Dec 28, 2006 @ 23:00:35

    Weakness, thy name is Candle.

    I LOVE candles. And incense. And air fresheners.
    I have three candles burning next to me right now.

    I should be better at reading labels…some wicks still have lead in them. LEAD!

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Dec 28, 2006 @ 23:01:16

    And you will rock the test.

    Reply

  5. Laura
    Dec 29, 2006 @ 00:04:12

    Mostly I burn them in the winter when the house is all closed up and prone to feeling stale.

    I love the Christmas scents – bayberry is my favorite. Yankee has two new ones this season that I love – Sage and Cinammon and Holiday Sage. Guess sage is a favorite!

    Good luck with your test and happy studying!

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Dec 29, 2006 @ 09:15:03

    Susan – Oh yeah, I love nice scents in my home this time of year, too. Wicks have lead in them – oh my! The ones at the website above are chemical free. Thanks for your confidence on the stupid test!
    Laura – me too, I like to air the house out, but when I can’t the candles are nice. I like Bayberry too! Thanks for the good wishes on the test. I think I’m in the mood to study today.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

