(Partial) Year in Review Meme

I saw this on Laura’s Somewhere in NJ blog, and thought it was an interesting idea. The idea is to put the first sentence of the first entry of each month here. Shoot, I have to be careful next year, some of them are b-o-r-i-n-g (snore):

The Matterhorn Nursery is awesome – it is a gardener’s paradise. more here

Wave Hill is in the Bronx, and it had an awesome sounding bird, some huge trees, an urban forest, two beautiful old homes, and gardens with greenhouses. more here

HT06 WH 071

It rained last night and now it is cooler out – 70 degrees F at 10:20 AM – yay! more here

I haven’t seen a live Luna Moth since I was a kid. more here

29June2006 Luna Moth

The temperature is supposed to reach 100 degrees F today, with a heat index of 110. more here

9_Stid_Hill_02282004

I rec’d a comment from Susan Gets Native about my lack of posts – I’m sorry Susan! more here

Mom and I went to Saratoga Springs this weekend, with the express purpose of attending the Saratoga Native American Festival held at The Saratoga Spa State Park. more here

30Sep2006 038

I really like the central and western New York state outdoor books written by Rich and Sue Freeman, owners of the Footprint Press. more here

Yesterday I was catching up with all of my email, blogs, etc., and found Good Planets on Flickr – oh my – if you need to see some excellent nature photos (and who doesn’t), you’ll definitely want to check this out. more here

This isn’t part of the meme, but one of my favorite photos I took this year is of Tinker Falls on Mother’s Day – not just for the photo itself but because we returned to a place my parents used to take us when we were young:
MD06 019

I truly hope everyone has a Happy and Healthy New Year!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Dec 29, 2006 @ 18:54:10

    Pam – that last photo took my breath away. Not surprisingly, though, as I love ponds and waterfalls. What a great place!

    Your entries were not boring and sparked my interest to read more.

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Dec 29, 2006 @ 18:55:09

    And I want to wish you a Happy and Healthy New Year, too! Keep posting!

    Reply

  3. Mon@rch
    Dec 29, 2006 @ 20:30:49

    Pam – Also love your close to home blogs and I am really enjoying all these post!! Happy New Year to you my friend!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Dec 29, 2006 @ 22:05:31

    Thank you Mary! I love Tinker Falls very much. It is so quite and secluded, and on hot summer evenings my parents used to take us there (among other places) for hikes. Thank you for the wishes for the New Year. I’ll keep posting – and please do the same, okay!
    Thanks Mon@rch – I love your close to home posts, too! I knew there had to be other NY State bloggers out there, and am glad we found each other! Happy New Year to you, too!

    Reply

  5. Laura
    Dec 29, 2006 @ 23:13:16

    Pam,

    I’m hosting Good Planets in January – will you please send along a pic or two during the month? Yours are always so beautiful!

    Hope the new year is happy and bloggable!

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Dec 30, 2006 @ 09:13:20

    Hi Laura – I’d be happy to contribute to Good Planets – thank you for asking – and thanks for the compliment on my photos! I hope your new year is happy and bloggable, too! I look forward to your daily posts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

