I’m feeling like a Geekazoid, Euphorbia plant

Here’s some of the Plant Pathology and Insect books I’ve been studying – these are just a few of the textbooks I had for school – even though they don’t look like I cracked them open, I use them quite a bit. I love books and take really good care of them.
2006-12-29 006 Books

Once I started attacking these books, I realized it wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be. And insects ARE actually really cool. Just as long as we keep our distance from each other. I was reminded when going through my old tests that I learned at Cornell’s Geneva Experiment station about a beneficial mite that lives in the little hairs of grape leaves. I’ll have to post the full story about this little mite another day.

Actually, the reason why I had the camera out today while I’m studying was to post this photo for Animal Lover, who gave me this Euphorbia plant back in August of 2005. He warned me when it got to its reproduction stage it would start shooting seeds all over the place and little plants would start growing in the pot. I’m not at the seed shooting stage yet, but as you can see, I think it’s going to happen soon:
2006-12-29 001 Euphorbia-close

It also has an arm growing out of its side. This plant is definitely for anyone with any type of thumb. I haven’t been able to kill it, even though I ignore it by forgetting to water it and I don’t give it enough sunshine (it’s a tropical plant, so it would love tons of sun). It is in need of replanting into a much bigger pot which I’ll do in February. 2006-12-29 002 Euphorbia

It keeps on growing like a weed.  It is taking over my living room.
And as I was writing this post last night, I saw another gorgeous sunset.

2006-12-29 010

I *love* winter tree silhouettes.

2006-12-29 009

How about you, do you like tree silhouettes? Have you ever seen or heard of this Euphorbia plant?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne
    Dec 30, 2006 @ 09:34:08

    I’ve never heard of that plant but Ill bet I could kill it!! I have THE worst luck with houseplants.

    I adore tree silhouettes. The black against the colored sky is one of my favorite sights. Your picture is perfect.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Dec 30, 2006 @ 09:49:59

    Hi Lynne! It’s nice to hear from you! When my plant has babies, I could send you one if you want! I kill all of my houseplants from neglect. I’m much better with unneedy outdoor plants.
    Thanks for the compliment on my photo! Are you getting any snow yet? None here so far – well, just a dusting every once in a while.

    Reply

  3. Mary
    Dec 30, 2006 @ 14:12:05

    Pam,

    You really have a knack for photography. No, I’m not very knowledgeable about plants and I have *never* seen anything like that… For sure, I would kill it. I never take the time to transplant and my houseplants smother to death.

    The winter sunsets and silhouettes are gorgeous. The ones here in NC are very nice but the ones we witnessed while living in Delaware were awesome – every day. The flat land was perfect for getting the *full view*.

    Thanks for the great photos.

    Reply

  4. Laura
    Dec 30, 2006 @ 21:36:22

    Euphorbias are such a diverse family! Never seen one like this.

    Those books are right up my alley – in fact I’ve had my eye on the Garden Insects for a while now.

    Reply

  5. Mon@rch
    Dec 30, 2006 @ 22:46:34

    Love the tree silhouette and great shots of this Euphorbia Plant! Not sure if its me that kills all my house plants or if its my cats who end up eating them! Let me just say, bring on the seeds! I can’t wait till you are ready! 🙂

    Reply

  6. Susan Gets Native
    Dec 30, 2006 @ 23:41:29

    Sure, I’ve heard of euphorbia. That’s when you feel really really happy.

    Reply

  7. Sandy
    Dec 31, 2006 @ 07:30:03

    Your books look interesting!
    Yes, I love sunrise and sunset photos, with trees, but don’t get many sunsets from here, I have a much better view of the sun coming up.
    That plant is way too large for my living room.

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Dec 31, 2006 @ 09:59:32

    Thanks Mary, and you’re welcome for the photos! I hadn’t seen anything like this plant until I rec’d it myself. I can’t remember what the species name is. I usually don’t transplant my houseplants either – I’m going to have to make a point of transplanting this one though.
    I love awesome sunrises and sunsets, I don’t see them here that often for all of trees, which I’m not complaining about. I’m looking forward to going southwest for a few days – and there I see gorgeous gorgeous sunrises and sunsets every day.
    Hi Laura – I love Euphorbias and when I was researching this I couldn’t believe how many there were. I did get it down to the species, but can’t remember it off the top of my head. I figured you would like those books. The Garden Insects book is excellent – as are the others! I use them quite often.
    Hi Mon@rch! I’ll save you some seeds – I think this plant would love your Red House! Hopefully your kitties won’t love it, too!
    You know Susan, when I was typing the name I *knew* you were going to say that – yup!
    Me too Sandy! I enjoy your sunrise photos – I can’t see the sunrise here because the trees are really thick in the back, and I can’t really see the sunset for all of the trees here except this time of year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

