Tufa at Saratoga Spa State Park

Remember this interesting structure that I saw at the Saratoga Spa State Park on September 30th? Yesterday I received a comment from Nathan saying my “mystery photo is one of the more notable features along Geyser Creek known as Orenda Spring. The dome shaped structure you see is called a “tufa” which is basically a type of rock formed by the minerals in the spring water being deposited on the surface over time.” There’s more information about Tufas on Wikipedia here.
30Sep2006 033 30Sep2006 034

Thank you Nathan! I really appreciate it when people take their time to write to tell me things. This is an amazing rock formation!

How about everyone else, do you have any interesting rock formations in your area? I wish everyone a safe and happy New Year’s Eve!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Dec 31, 2006 @ 18:39:15

    Hey Pam, that does look interesting!
    Just stopped by to say Happy New Year. I am not a party person anymore, don’t even watch the ball drop!
    Have fun tonight, and catch you next year.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Dec 31, 2006 @ 20:01:44

    Hi Sandy – I thought it looked manmade, can’t believe nature formed this, but it is really interesting! Next time I’m in Saratoga Springs, I’ll walk down there for a closer look.
    Happy New Year to you, too! I look forward to visiting your blog next year!

    Reply

  3. Mary
    Dec 31, 2006 @ 21:10:02

    Pam,

    Wow. Very cool rocks. I’ve never seen anything like that.

    I want to wish you a great new year and please keep posting!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Dec 31, 2006 @ 21:16:21

    Hi Mary – it is really cool! I want to see it closer next time now that I know what it is.
    I wish you a great new year, too! I’ll keep posting. And please keep posting on your blog, too!

    Reply

  5. Lindsay
    Apr 06, 2010 @ 22:07:30

    Hi there, I just stumbled upon your blog doing research on the “tufa” at Saratoga for a blog post I’m doing. Great site, I will definitely be back!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

