This Looked Ominous!

I was leaving my home yesterday at 2:50 PM for the second time and I thought it was a beautiful day full of bright sunshine. Until I got out onto the main road and saw the sun was about ready to hide behind an ominous looking bank of clouds coming my way. By the time I went back home to get the camera and take these photos, the sun was already behind the clouds – between the sun moving west and the clouds moving northeast, it disappeared really fast! This is looking towards the southwest:

2006-12-31 002

Here’s a photo looking towards the west.

2006-12-31 004

And yet another photo looking west – more northerly than the previous photo.

2006-12-31 003

Of course, I was travelling into this ominous darkness. I would have preferred to turn around and head east! The evening brought ice rain, but this morning its just rain – thankfully. I’ve lived through one major ice storm, and don’t want to ever do that again. Okay, it’s January 1st and now I would like *some* snow – not a blizzard, just enough snow cover to protect everyone’s plants.

Happy New Year!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 11:20:29

    I see what you mean. It kind of reminds me of the formation of clouds that tornados come out of.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 11:53:20

    I’ve never seen that, but can only imagine how scary it would be. My cousin in Walnut Grove, MN has told me about tornadoes, but I guess you have to experience it for yourself to really get the full, scary impact.

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 23:40:19

    Yikes.
    When I see cloud banks like that, it reminds me just how small we are.

    I would like a bit of snow, too. Just a touch.
    I have been thinking about insects, with all this warm weather. Less of them will die off and the spring will bring more food for the birds. But the birds won’t be able to eat them all and the plants will suffer. And when the plants suffer, the bugs will suffer, too. And so the cycle goes on…

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Jan 01, 2007 @ 23:53:09

    Susan – yeah, those clouds were freaky. It made me want to go inside and pull the covers over my head. And then the ping ping ping of the icy rain on the windows really got to me.
    I’ve been really concerned about the insects & plants – especially after studying some really gross insects / pests that I really should blog about soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

