Life Birds – Please Don’t Laugh Too Hard!

Okay, so after the gym today I decided to take a quick side trip to Irondequoit Bay which is all of 30 seconds out of my way. There’s always tons of birds down there, so I decided to start investigating them. If you could pretty please give positive identification of these birds I would greatly appreciate it! I have ideas, but I don’t wanna say. I know you can do this in your sleep!
I had to stand on this Irondequoit Bay Outlet Bridge –

2007-01-02 023

which shakes bad when anything drives across it – I had to try hard not to think about falling into the bay while capturing bird photos. This group of birds swam over to me thinking I was going to feed them.

2007-01-02 008

I saw why after I photographed them. An old man came out with his bag of corn for the birds. But before he came out, I capture some more photos of them.

2007-01-02 013 2007-01-02 015 2007-01-02 017 2007-01-02 016

I *love* birds in motion on the water – the little wake they leave behind them is so cool.

This piggie – I mean gull – was eating a fish, but my batteries gave out and by the time I reloaded I did catch it spreading its wings and then posing.

2007-01-02 020 2007-01-02 021

This is the view from the middle of the bridge looking at the outlet of the bay leading out to Lake Ontario. I cannot believe I took these photos today. Usually by this time the bay – which is much bigger than what I’ve shown here – is iced over and people are ice fishing all over it.
2007-01-02 011

And then looking slightly east of the previous photo out onto Lake Ontario: 2007-01-02 014

I stopped at one more place before the second set of old batteries croaked and captured two swan hinies through the window:

2007-01-02 027

And two other swans upright – again through the window:

2007-01-02 026

I’ll be going back there! Thanks for your help! πŸ˜€

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Jan 02, 2007 @ 18:15:32

    It sure doesn’t look like winter there! All the photos are good and I recognize some, but not all. I know lots of your blogmates are birders, so I will let them do the id’s.
    Now, I have to go get some supper going, didn’t realize it is way after six!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Jan 02, 2007 @ 18:47:40

    Hi Sandy – it doesn’t feel like winter here either. Thursday it is supposed to be 55 degrees F. I’ll either head back to the bay or to 1000 Acre Swamp for a quick visit (in between the gym and studying for Saturday’s test – yuck-o – the test that is, not the gym). Have a great dinner!

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 02, 2007 @ 19:02:32

    Okay, let’s see…
    The geese are “feral geese”, meaning they are cross breeds with domestic/wild geese, either escapees or released intentionally.
    There are also mallards (male and female), and Canada geese.
    The swans, as far as I can see from the photo are trumpeter swans.
    The gull is a ring-billed gull, the pariah of fast-food parking lots.

    That list is growing, girlfriend!

    Reply

  4. Mon@rch
    Jan 02, 2007 @ 23:14:48

    This weather has been crazy this year! I bet those ice fishing people are very upset this year! Love your birdy shots! Looks like to me Canada Goose, Domestic Geese, Mallards, Ring-billed Gull and hard to say with the Swans (but I do love the swan butts)! I love the blue skies and views along the water! Bravo job my friend!

    Reply

  5. Lost Roses
    Jan 02, 2007 @ 23:53:53

    Found your blog through someone else’s and just wanted to chime in on your waterfowl. The geese with the “knob” above their bills are Chinese geese. I gather they’re domestic but someone seems to have released them in some ponds around here as I see them occasionally. They’re sometimes called “Swan geese” too. Nice shots you got!

    Reply

  6. Mary
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 12:37:37

    Pam,

    I call them GEESE. LOL! No help from me…! I especially like the white one with the polka dot tail.

    Your photography is outstanding. Please keep it up!

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 17:56:39

    Susan – thank you so much for your help! Now to figure out which is what. My list count is still in the double digits – it’s getting up there s-l-o-w-l-y!

    Mon@rch – there was a fisherman near where the swans were which is why I took photos from inside (I didn’t want to scare all his fish away). Next time though, I’m getting out so I can take better swan photos! Thanks for the ids! So you’re a butt man, then? πŸ˜‰ I’ll be sure to capture more birdy butts for you when the opportunities present themselves!

    Lost Roses – thank you so much for your help! I’m curious how you found your way here. I’ll check out your blog when I get a chance!

    Mary – ROFL!! I’ve just called them birds all this time. Once when I was driving back roads (I’m talking dirt roads with very deep ruts) in Arizona a bird was sauntering across the road, to which I said “get out of the road bird.” And my Mom replied “it’s a roadrunner!” Needless to say, roadrunners do not run around all of the time! Gulls have cool polka dots, but I can’t stand them because they’re mean about trying to steal my food when I eat outside up near the lake. I don’t make new year’s resolutions, but I’m going to try to photograph *something* every day.

    Reply

  8. Kristi
    Jan 10, 2007 @ 14:37:49

    Hi Neighbor!
    I took similar shots of the same birds this past Sunday. From what I could find, they are Swan Geese and also endangered. I have a folder of pictures called “Birds: Water and Shore” and tend to fill it with images of all the birds down here on the water and around my yard. Your site is great!

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Jan 10, 2007 @ 15:30:09

    Hi Kristi! This is so cool! I ended up going up to Mill Creek and the Lake on Webster Park on Sunday instead of the Bay, otherwise I would have seen you down there! Thank you for the id on the Swan Geese. Your photos are great! I’ll be looking at the rest of your bird, etc. photos. Thanks for commenting and sharing!
    P.S. Do you know anything about the Gulls? I think I have a Juvenile Great Black-Backed Gull from the lake, but we’re not 100% sure.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

