Longwood Gardens Conservatory in the Spring

In going through the Longwood Gardens Main Conservatory, and more specifically, The Orangery photos that Rosa and I took on April 29, 2005, I realized we didn’t take general conservatory photos – I think because they’re crowded at that time of year and we don’t like to capture unknown people in our photos. Instead, we honed in on the spring plants that caught our eyes. But, we’re going back this spring and I’ll take more photos then – unknown people or no!
100_1687100_1681 LG-HT2005 179 100_1684 100_1682 100_1685 100_1690 LG-HT2005 174

For now, I hope you enjoy the photos we did take!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 09:21:14

    Beautiful!! I can almost smell them- how about a smell-o-vision post?

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 12:41:39

    Pam,

    That was my first thought (I can almost smell them). Those hydrangea blew me away. I would walk through and touch them *all*. Very pretty!

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 18:00:39

    Lynne – Ohhh, a smell-o-vision post would be awesome, wouldn’t it? I wish I could send you some of the wonderful flower scents!

    Mary – I love their hydrangeas, too – and we do touch them all!

    Reply

  4. Mon@rch
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 19:47:15

    I am surprised the interenet hasn’t come up with anything for smelling yet! Guess our words will have to discribe what we smell! It has been since 1995 since I have visited Longwood Gardens! Can’t wait to go back one of these days!

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 22:20:11

    How about Scratch ‘N’ Sniff screens?
    We could make MILLIONS.
    🙂
    Lovely photos as always, Pam.

    Reply

  6. Laura
    Jan 03, 2007 @ 22:33:07

    Wow – will have to get there in the Spring.

    I really want to see their lily ponds with those huge platters they’re famous for.

    Very beautiful – thanks for sharing these!

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Jan 04, 2007 @ 08:34:31

    Mon@rch – yeah smelling these flowers on your computer would be awesome, wouldn’t it? The smell of wet earth combined with their sweet aroma would be great. 1995 – you should plan to go back soon. Need a tour guide? – I’m there! (Yeah, like *you* would need a tour guide)! I like to spend a good portion of my time in the woodland and meadow there. I *know* that would break your heart!

    Susan – now there you go – scratch ‘n sniff screens! Let’s file for a patent girlfriend! 😉 Thanks Susan!

    Laura – you’ll love it! The platters are wonderful. I’ll have to ask Rosa but it seems like they’re not in bloom when we go there at the end of April otherwise we would have taken photos. But, my Mom and I did capture them one year – I’ll have to dig those photos out to see if there’s anything worth putting on my blog. And you’re welcome!

    Reply

  8. Laura
    Jan 04, 2007 @ 22:47:27

    Most lilies don’t bloom that early. I’m pretty sure those platters are *tropicals* that won’t bloom until the water is good and hot.

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 08:46:27

    Laura – you’re right! Now that I’ve thought about it the room with the pool is empty at the end of Aprill Otherwise I know we’d be in there photographing them because Rosa is from Brazil, and what we think is wonderful here she says grows like weeds in Brazil. For example, orchids. That’s one of the reasons why I love going with her because she teaches me about her native plants.

    Reply

  10. JLB
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 10:49:54

    Longwood Gardens is such a fun place! You really captured some beautiful pictures!

    Reply

  11. Pam
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 16:32:10

    JLB – Thank you! And I agree! There’s something for everyone there.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

