The Thousand Acre Swamp Sanctuary

I had all good intentions of *birding* at the Thousand Acre Swamp Sanctuary, however, the birds were very uncooperative. I heard them, I saw their little bodies partially hiding behind trees and shrubs, but they were way too busy to give me a chance to photograph them. So no lifers to report – from here anyway! The entrance sign said ‘no dogs, no horses, no motor vehicles.’ Yeah, right. I saw doggy foot prints all over the place. Who is going to enforce that?
2007-01-04 045

What would a swamp be without some fungus:

2007-01-04 005 2007-01-04 032 2007-01-04 038

Some moss – I *love* the seta sticking up:

2007-01-04 035 2007-01-04 034

Some duckweed (may be lesser duckweed) – where are the ducks?

2007-01-04 009

A boardwalk through part of it so I can walk over the swamp:

2007-01-04 013

Some falling trees – scary because the trail goes through where this tree would fall if the other tree wasn’t holding it up. I thoroughly checked it out before slinking quickly across the path.
2007-01-04 025

Woodpecker holes in dead trees (thanks Susan):

2007-01-04 026

Poison Ivy on a tree – argh! – get me away from that – I still have faint scars from this summer!
Leaves of three, let it be!
Hairy vine, no friend of mine!

2007-01-04 029

Some rosehips (thanks Susan):

2007-01-04 042

A hornet’s nest (thanks Susan):
2007-01-04 043

And a tree that looks like he’s trying to run away from his major issues:
2007-01-04 031

The tartarian honeysuckle (very bad invasive plant) is already leafing out with this strangely warm weather – it was around a high of 57 degrees F today, January 4, 2007.
2007-01-04 047

I’ve seen ducks, geese and old bird’s nests here in the past, but none today. The cattails and weeds haven’t been smushed down by any snow yet, so it they’re there, they can hide very well. I don’t know where the old bird’s nests are.
I’ll be going back – especially in the spring! Hint, hint my hiking friend!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 04, 2007 @ 23:03:06

    I so love your posts.

    The first fungus looks like a dumbell. The second looks like scallops. The third, scales on a snake.
    And you teach me cool stuff. Seta. So THAT’S what they are!
    There’s more than one kind of duckweed?
    Lucky you, getting to tramp through a swamp!
    Woodpecker holes! That’s why it’s a good idea to leave a dead tree standing as long as it’s not endangering a house.
    Multiflora rose.
    Hornet’s nest.
    Hiarious tree…major issues, indeed!
    Honeysuckle..I hate hate hate honeysuckle.

    Reply

  2. Mon@rch
    Jan 04, 2007 @ 23:24:28

    I have to agree, such wonderful photos you have here! I love the moss that you captured and I really need to get out there one of these days. I didn’t know that they had a boardwalk that went across the wetland! How cool! Well, seeing that poison ivy might keep me away for a while!

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 08:37:30

    Susan – Thanks! I love your posts, too! Seta stick up to hold the capsules that hold the moss spores and hopefully the spore mother cells can catch a ride on the wind and reproduce elsewhere. Awesome design, huh?
    Duckweed – there’s lesser and greater. Lesser duckweed is the smallest flowering plant with leaves 1/8″ in diameter and a single root. Greater duckweed have leaves 1/4″ in diameter and they’re reddish on the underside with multiple roots.
    Thanks for the id on the rose and hornet’s nest! I hate honeysuckle – there’s one guy we would walk through the woods with and he would pull out every honeysuckle he saw – and told us to do that too. He’s really cool because he has a native tree farm in the Finger Lakes area.

    Mon@rch – Thank you! I think the boardwalk is relatively new. It is very cool to walk and hang out quietly across the boardwalk because when I was there in the spring there’s a great deal of bird nesting going on. Don’t let the poison ivy keep you away! I’m not staying out of the woods just cause of the poison ivy! I became *very* familiar with it this summer while recuperating with a really bad case of it so I know what it looks like in all its phases.

    Reply

  4. Mary
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 08:48:12

    Pam, all of your photos are winners. I particularly like the boardwalk. My favorite today is the *tree with two legs*. Wa ha ha!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 08:52:22

    Thank you Mary. The tree with two legs is one of my favs! The thing is, it still looks like it is getting nourishment to the top (you can’t see from this photo) – I’m going to have to see if it leafs out in the spring.

    Reply

  6. Lynne
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 09:33:52

    Wonderful pictures and as always, I’ve learned a few things! I really look foreward to your posts Pam.

    I got my copy of Fern Finders that you recommended! Maybe we can have dueling fern posts in spring!

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 09:47:16

    Thanks Lynne! I look forward to your posts, too!
    Yay – I’m glad you have a copy of Fern Finder – I love that little book.
    Yes fern posts would be fun! Let’s post all of the ferns we find in the spring! There were lots of dead fern bodies lying around in the swamp yesterday. I’m especially looking for two ferns that I’ve only seen on specimen sheets while working in an Herbarium:
    Hart’s Tongue Fern – Asplenium scolopendrium
    Walking Fern – Asplenium rhizophyllum

    Hart’s Tongue Fern is threatened in NY and I’ve heard it resides in all of two or three places in NY – and I’m hopefully on the search in one of those places in the spring (if I can get my hiking partner to go because it is at a place I shouldn’t go to by myself). I don’t see that it lives in MN, but it might!

    Walking Fern is exploitably vulnerable in NY – and it resides in MN!
    I use the USDA Plant Database to see what counties plants have been found to reside.

    If you can find either of these ferns that would be so awesome! Check them out in the book if you want – they’re very cool!

    Reply

  8. JLB
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 10:48:05

    This is such a beautiful sequence Pam! Thanks for sharing your adventures (I especially enjoyed the moss).

    PS – I have tartarian honeysuckle all over the place here! It seems like wherever I don’t have Multiflora rose, I have tartarian honeysuckle.

    PPS – I hope you’ll submit this one to the upcoming festival of the trees – it’s just lovely. Ginkgo Dreams is hosting the next festival http://www.ginkgodreams.com; you can email your submission to kelly [at] ginkgodreams [dot] com.

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 16:35:35

    JLB – Thank you! I’m glad you enjoyed it – I love moss!
    Do you rip out the tartarian honeysuckle whenever you see it?
    I’ll check out the festival of trees (sounds great since I love trees). Thanks for suggesting I submit this post to Kelly!

    Reply

  10. Sandy
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 17:37:56

    I love these shots, but can you believe it is winter? Moss is a favorite of mine, too.

    Reply

  11. Pam
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 19:21:38

    Thanks Sandy! No, I can’t believe it’s winter at all. It’s like we’re in this season I’m unfamiliar with – I expect to see springtime occurences in the woods – the early wildflowers, etc. Instead, it’s just there. I can’t get enough of moss, ferns and lichens, among other things – I love them all.

    Reply

  12. Crafty Green Poet
    Feb 02, 2007 @ 09:56:03

    Lovely post, especially the photos of fungi and mosses. I really need to get my camera up close to some tree trunks…..

    Reply

  13. Pam
    Feb 02, 2007 @ 11:29:02

    Thank you Crafy Green Poet! I love getting close to tree trunks – there’s so many interesting things going on there. I look forward to seeing your close-up photos of tree trunks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

