March 5-7 1971 Blizzard Photos from LaFayette Rd. LaFayette, NY

Because I’m buckling down tonight for tomorrow’s test (I know, it’s about time), I’m posting another one of my Dad’s blizzard stories. I remember there’s some other great photos from this blizzard – and I will scan them in sometime and show you. One I remember is my Dad’s company car sitting in the driveway covered to the top with snow, and our cat Domino walking on top of the snow next to the top of the car. For now, my Dad was focusing on the amazing snow plowing equipment to clear the roads.
Written by my Dad, January 2006

The first photo was snapped on the 5th of March, 1971. The snow had stopped falling during the night. The morning was spent plowing out the driveway at 2615-2617 LaFayette Rd. The roads were unpassable, the result of excessive snowfall and some wind. This day was sunny and when the driveway was plowed the ice and snow started to melt. Clearing the driveway was aided by the road being shut. Most of the snow was pushed across the road, up and over the guard rail and down a steeply sloped field. The near hill, in the background is called “Irish Hill.” The far hill is the ridge from Pompey north. Sweet Road runs the ridge north from Pompey to the Town of Manlius.

LaFayette_Snow_71_1

The next four photos were taken on March 6, 1971. The county used a rotary plow to open the road. Note the neighbors to the north out in the road, checking the progress. Snow-p3 Snow-p2

The next photo of the rotary plow is looking south down the valley, toward Apulia Station. The three standing together watching the rotary plow moving toward them are my children Nat, Pam and Todd. Snow-p1

The next photo, taken on March 6, 1971, is of a Walter “Snow Fighter.” It has a “V” plow with a 14 foot wing on both the left and right sides of the truck. The truck has 4 wheel positive drive. The outside wheel of the rear duals were removed for snow fighting with tire chains on the remaining four wheels and the dump body loaded with heavy solid concrete balast. These machines could move snow!

Snow-p4

This last photo was taken on March 7, 1971. This photo witnesses the capability of these Walter plows to lift and move the snow. This photo was taken from inside our car on LaFayette Rd. travelling north just beyond the Crow Farm homestead. It is evident that more snow will be removed to widen the passage to normal width. Snow-p5

Susan, Mary, another car photographer! I remember him taking this photo, too. I wondered at the time what the big deal was, but now I’m glad he captured these photos!
And the temperature today in my town was 60 degrees F and rainy. No coat would have been needed if not for the rain.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 20:41:32

    I like the way your Dad writes – very factual and to the point 🙂 Those snow throwing machine are impressive. I’ve only seen plows and the problem with them is that after you move the snow from your driveway and clear your path to the street, they come by and block you in again. I haven’t seen a blizzard since 03. They amaze me. Taking photos while driving is a very good thing. Smart man. Thanks for sharing. Good luck on that test, OK?

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 21:12:57

    Hi Mary – I’ll have to tell him! I try to get him to write other stories – he talks my ears off, though – which I’m happy about! You know these are moments in my life I’ll never forget – the first machine was one huge machine – and to be able to dig through the deep snow like it did – it was simply amazing. That wasn’t light, fluffy snow out there either – it was packed and very heavy.
    Yeah, don’t you love the satisfaction of clearing your driveway to the blacktop, and then the snowplow comes by and kicks the heavy snow and ice into your driveway. Lovely.
    Thanks for the good wishes on the test. I’m not loving the State of NY right now, giving NO clues as to what this test is about.

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 22:25:31

    Ahh, your Dad…the first car photographer! It’s nice to know that I am not INSANE for doing it.
    Good luck on the test tomorrow. I will be thinkin’ of ya!
    🙂

    Reply

  4. Mon@rch
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 22:58:51

    I am still amazed at all of the snow in these pictures! I bet this snow would have been good with the snow shoes! Good luck tomorrow and thanks for all the comments you did today! Shouldn’t you have been studying? Only kidding!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Jan 06, 2007 @ 06:57:29

    Susan – Yup, my Dad’s a character – so photographing in the car goes along with it. I remember it was a Polaroid camera, he snapped the photo and threw the camera over to my Mom to time it – which obviously she did a good job with.
    Thanks girlfriend for thinking about me. I need it – I don’t do good on unknown tests. But I’m not gonna worry about it because there’s a ton of people taking it and probably only one job.

    Mon@rch – all of that snow was great for snow shoes – even though as you can see we’re standing on top of the snow – it was so hard no shoes were required. And maybe as you can see a little bit we lived in the hills, and we had all of the standard sledding gear – toboggan, sled, saucer – and it was great for downhill skiing! We used to build forts and tunnels in the snow – it was great fun.
    And you’re right, I should have been studying! I’m the queen of studying, but not when I don’t know what’s going on!

    Reply

  6. Laura
    Jan 06, 2007 @ 13:04:50

    I can’t get over the amount of snow either. Imagine the mud when it finally melted!

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Jan 06, 2007 @ 14:15:05

    I can’t either Laura. As I mentioned above, that snow made for good winter sports. You know, I don’t remember it being anymore muddy than usual – but maybe because we lived near the top of the hill. It was probably bad in the valley.

    Reply

  8. Trackback: Ice, Not So Nice « Nature Woman
  9. Trackback: Wimpy Wimpy Wimpy « Nature Woman
  10. Linda Sweet
    Mar 19, 2008 @ 13:17:23

    Thank you for the Photos. I am researching the Pompey area. Linda Sweet

    Reply

Leave a Reply

