Two More Lifers – Woo Hoo!

I went back to the Irondequoit Bay Outlet on January 4th and found two more lifers (I still haven’t straightened out the lifers from the other day, but I will when I get a chance). I’ll say up front that these photos stink because I was in a Private Property, No Trespassing, No Parking zone, so I stayed in my vehicle so I could make a fast getaway if I had to. The birds were pretty far out, they were on the move, the water was moving pretty good, and I was almost pointing the camera directly into the sun. Enough excuses? Okay, here goes! I saw at least two male and two female Buffleheads Bucephala albeola:

2007-01-04 061 2007-01-04 055

And I saw some Mute Swans Cygnus olor:
2007-01-04 052

Thank you Mon@rch for providing ids without my having to ask! I’m really looking forward to going to Montezuma Wildlife Refuge in the spring – I’ve been told that there are 25 different species of ducks there, among many other birds. Even though Mon@rch says the Batavia Water Treatment Plant is better because the birds are closer. Uh huh, you read right, water treatment plant. As in everything that goes *down* the toilet.

Soooo, the test went well. I saw some of my friends, but didn’t have time to talk much. The test lasted for 4 hours, I was there for 1.5 hours after going through my test twice, and figured I wasn’t missing anything so I left. And that’s that. I’m not allowed to talk about it. Bummer. I wanted to talk about it.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mon@rch
    Jan 06, 2007 @ 15:25:41

    shouldn’t be long before we get your life list up!!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Jan 06, 2007 @ 15:41:08

    Yay Mon@rch! That’s good to hear – I’d hate to tell you where I’m at right now. Thank you again for all of your help!

    Reply

  3. Mary
    Jan 06, 2007 @ 20:10:23

    These photos don’t stink, Pam! I’ll learn some IDs just by reading your posts. The swans are great. I love water and the birds that go with it.

    You must have aced the test if you went through it twice. I sure hope you will be happy with the result!

    Keep trespassing on private property and in no parking zones. It’s worth it, don’t ya think?

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 06, 2007 @ 22:20:24

    I was thinking about you on my birding trip today.

    You have a bird on your life list now that I DON’T HAVE, you stinker. I have seen tundra swans, but not mute swans.

    Your pics are very good, considering they were ill-gotten.
    🙂

    Reply

  5. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Jan 07, 2007 @ 04:26:01

    Hooray on your new life birds! The mute swans are beautiful!

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Jan 07, 2007 @ 08:55:30

    Mary – thanks – it’s just as you described on your blog – don’t breathe, don’t do anything when you’ve got the zoom going!
    I hope the test results come back good, too! Now that I’ve taken this one, I’m looking to sign up for another one for an historical park – right up my alley!
    Yup – I almost went down to the bay yesterday after my test, but figured people *might* be home then – I wouldn’t want to see something I just have to photograph and not be able to!

    Susan – of course I had to go to your blog to see why you were thinking of me! Scat fungus – cool – and scary man-made water control – argh!
    I’m sending you some good vibes to find some mute swans – or you could take a *long* drive to see the ones here! 😀
    Ill-gotten photos are the best – as you know!

    Lynne – Thanks! They are beautiful – I love the curve of their necks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

