Lookit! It’s S-N-O-W-I-N-G!!!

Okay, I may not be excited about this when it piles high, but for now I’m glad to see the snow! The plow man plowed my driveway this morning without it being three inches (he’s probably feeling bad we all (neighbors and me) paid him good money to plow and he hasn’t had to do anything yet)! Yay Snow!! Cover and protect those plants!

Update: The snow you see here is pathetic compared to the snow east, west and south of me! I’m glad I decided not to drive to Syracuse today – they got blasted with tons of snow.
2007-01-10 005 2007-01-10 002

(Yes, my deck needs restaining which is what I was about to do when I got the poison ivy rash this past summer – so I’ll get to it this summer)!

On another note, I ended up buying the Sunbeam Candle for Peace the other day, got it home, put it on my stove and went to get the matches. No matches. Where are the matches – good thing the electricity hasn’t gone out recently, I’d really be in the dark. But I’m here to tell you, right now this candle doesn’t need matches (which I will buy on my next trip to the store). My whole kitchen smells like Ylang Ylang, Patchouli and Pine Needles – especially the Patchouli. It smells really good. And I even made a pot of soup and a pot of stoup, which both had a base of cooked garlic, and my kitchen stills smells like Patchouli. Now that’s one powerful candle.

And stoup – that’s Rachel Ray’s word for a cross between soup and stew, not as thin as soup but not as thick as stew. Ymmmm, stoup is good food!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mon@rch
    Jan 10, 2007 @ 10:43:39

    It is soo hard to believe that it is snowing! Reminds me of the first day of snow (but its January)!! You never know if you should pay those plow people for the year or for each plowing! I would have gone crazy if I purchased a ski pass this year!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Jan 10, 2007 @ 10:55:08

    Mon@rch – it is hard to believe, isn’t it? I feel like a kid that needs to go out and play in it!
    I’ve never had a snow plow person – I usually do it all myself but everyone said this was going to be a bad winter. I sure hope I get my money’s worth this season.
    Oh yeah, ski passes – given their expense too – I would have gone crazy if I bought one too. A guy at the gym was telling me he did and the manmade snow is really bad – large like corn. I bet the ski people and places are happy now!

    Reply

  3. Mary
    Jan 10, 2007 @ 11:42:45

    Now that’s the kind of day I’m longing for. Inside, candles lit, and STOUP on the stove. Looking out the windows and waiting for the snow plow. How nice! Enjoy!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Jan 10, 2007 @ 11:49:21

    Mary – I love these type of days, too – I hope they stick around for a little while (it’s supposed to warm up again next week – ugh!) I wish I could offer you a bowl of soup or stoup – I’m about ready to have some for lunch. I hope you’re able to get out on your lunchhour again for another bird walk!

    Reply

  5. Sandy
    Jan 10, 2007 @ 17:37:13

    We had a few flakes today, but lots more sun. It is getting lots colder here, though.
    I can imagine how good your kitchen smells!

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Jan 10, 2007 @ 20:40:48

    Sandy – the sun came out this afternoon. Are you supposed to get snow tomorrow?
    I love the smell of cooking soup and the new candle! The candle smell is starting to reach the rest of my first floor – and I haven’t lit it yet!

    Reply

  7. jason
    Jan 10, 2007 @ 22:06:29

    I’m envious. I love snow. Makes you wonder why I live in Texas . . . But a kitchen full of wonderful aromas and the deafening silence of winter outside are all one needs. Well, that along with a good book and a warm cat. Ah, that’s cozy.

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Jan 10, 2007 @ 22:39:35

    Hi Jason – thanks for commenting on my blog! Maybe you’ll get some snow soon – after you capture photos of the comet that is! Oh yeah, the scene you set up is perfect isn’t it? What do you do with five cats? Do they fight for lap time? I know two cats at a time is enough for me!

    Reply

  9. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 10, 2007 @ 22:46:39

    I could have used a nice candle to smell and something cooking on the stove. I was so bored today. Wanted to go shopping…no $. Wanted to go birding…had the kids and just didn’t want to deal with them. They watched alot of videos today.
    Yay that you got some snow!
    We had a neighbor who unfortunately moved a few years ago…he was in LOVE with his mower, and also had a snow plow attachment. No matter what time it was, he would be out there plowing everyone’s driveways for nothing. And we have one long driveway! We miss him. The driveway hasn’t been plowed since he moved. We just rev the car and hope for the best.

    Reply

  10. Pam
    Jan 11, 2007 @ 07:20:40

    Susan – I wish we lived closer so you could have come over with your girls and we could have had some fun!
    It’s cool to have a neighbor like that, isn’t it? LOL! You rev the car and hope for the best! I used to do that when I got home and the driveway was full of snow. How much snow do you get in your driveway?

    Reply

  11. jason
    Jan 11, 2007 @ 10:19:37

    Sadly, there was no comet for us. Heavy clouds moved in overnight and played killjoy for us. Tonight’s the last chance and it’s supposed to be raining by then, so I guess I’ve missed this time around. But there will be others, I’m sure. And yes, five cats make lap time interesting. Although OSHA recommends no more than two cats at a time for safety reasons, sometimes I can squeeze three of them together if they don’t mind lounging atop each other just a bit. Otherwise, it’s a first-come-first-served resource that they’ve learned to share.

    Reply

  12. Pam
    Jan 11, 2007 @ 12:24:36

    Jason – No! I was hoping you could capture some great comet shots for your blog!
    LOL on OSHA recommends for # of cats on a lap! They must all get along well together to be able to squeeze three on your lap at once!

    Reply

  13. jason
    Jan 11, 2007 @ 16:40:49

    I was hoping for some comet photos as well, but others will come, I’m sure. And yes, my kids are good kids–most of the time. Sharing isn’t a problem for them when it’s something they really want, but they can still be quite selfish when the mood strikes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

