More Scans of Photos and Slides

I still haven’t found out for Lynne the story behind the hat I was wearing when I was looking at the worm (a few posts back). I know I loved hats (and still do) and my Mom knew I loved hats, so she kept me supplied with them. I would also walk around in her stylish hat:

1961_Pam_Aug_1961_0002

Hey, are you looking at me in the hat or that gorgeous T-Bird? Myself I’m looking at the T-Bird. Speaking of stylish, they don’t make vehicles like they used to! I know they’re better for the environment now, but the styles wreak! Bubbles, all I can think of are bubbles and the Jetsons.

I also liked to wear my Mom’s boots and shoes even though they were way too big on me. Here’s one of my grandparents’ slides I recently scanned in, of me in my Mom’s sandles trying hard to hold the mangie, stinky old dog from down the road that we all felt sorry for.  As a result he would hang around our place.
1964-09-015

This dog’s name was Tippy and my grandparents used to feed him their table scraps. In the winter he used to have icicles hanging from him. Nowadays those people would have been turned in for animal cruelty! The sad thing is, this mangie dog, who lived to be an old dog, gave the mange to our dog so we had to put him down.
Okay, let’s see your pictures of you when you were a kid!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Jan 14, 2007 @ 09:27:36

    Pam, my first reaction to the hat: Why is she wearing a lamp shade? LOL!

    These old photos are really cool. It will be a project for me to publish photos from my past. If I get the scanner working, I’ll dig them up and have fun with. This is a great idea for a future post!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Jan 14, 2007 @ 09:55:24

    Mary – LOL!! Too funny – it does look like an old fashioned lamp shade, doesn’t it!!
    I love old photos! That’s why I love working with them!
    Please get your scanner working soon so we can see your young girl photos!

    Reply

  3. Sandy
    Jan 14, 2007 @ 12:57:58

    How did you know I was looking at that car???
    Growing up catholic, we wore hats, too, but nothing that fancy.

    How do you like that snap widget?

    I just posted a couple old photos.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Jan 14, 2007 @ 13:02:48

    Hi Sandy – I just somehow knew the car would catch your attention! My Dad loves classy cars and had to have this T-Bird. One of his cousins wrote to me once a few years ago and reminisced about the T-Bird.

    Hats were the thing to wear back then, too, weren’t they? I remember I had tons of them, well, I still do. . .

    What’s the snap widget?

    I’m headed over to your blog!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Jan 14, 2007 @ 14:49:47

    Sandy – Woo Hoo! I figured out the Snap Preview tool! It’s not as easy when you have WordPress on your own website. Thanks for the heads up – that’s a neat tool!

    Reply

  6. Lynne
    Jan 14, 2007 @ 21:13:44

    Too Cute! I thought is was a lampshade too! LOL! Love the little romper outfit in the second pic. I wore them all the time- with the strings that tied over the shoulders.

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Jan 14, 2007 @ 21:19:03

    Lynne – Lampshades were in style then I guess, LOL! I remember those romper outfits being *very* comfy – didn’t have to worry about a thing. I do remember the strings coming untied sometimes but Mom was always around for a quick tie-up so I could get back to play.

    Reply

  8. Mary
    Jan 14, 2007 @ 22:52:02

    We called them “sunsuits”, right? The strings were annoying but who cared if they exposed anything before puberty? Smelling of sweat with bandaids dangling off our knees….those were the days.

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Jan 14, 2007 @ 23:01:00

    Mary – Sunsuits! That’s it! And oh boy did I ever get the tanned from the sun – back before people lathered their kids with sunscreen. Yeah, those strings were annoying – I would tie them myself when too far away from home and it would be all crooked.

    Remember stingy iodine (micurrycomb (sp?)) before the band-aid – ouch – hurt worse than the scrap itself! Yup, those were the days – freedom – when my parents didn’t worry about us roaming around the woods and playing outside by ourselves.

    Reply

  10. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 14, 2007 @ 23:22:26

    Mecurichrome.

    Love the hat, Pam.
    You were such a cute kid!

    I wish hats would come back into fashion. I love them.
    Of course, you and I could bring them back…we could just start wearing them and everyone would follow suit, right? (Cause we are just the trend setter type)

    Reply

  11. Mon@rch
    Jan 15, 2007 @ 00:21:23

    LOL, cute pictures! OK, I will have to ask my mother for some pictures for me to blog! Hmm, will have to get some good ones for you!

    Reply

  12. Pam
    Jan 15, 2007 @ 08:43:00

    Susan! Thanks for that spelling! I never read the bottle when I was a kid – I just knew it when I saw it.
    I have more hat photos for you – just have to get them to scan them.
    My Mom will say to me “you used to be so cute.” Like I’m an ugly sack now! LOL!
    Yes, you and I could bring hats back – we are the trendsetters! I just don’t want to ever wear one of those hats with the net stuff down over my face – those were weird.
    Hey, and who cares whether everyone follows suite! I don’t want everyone looking like me anyways!

    Mon@rch! Thanks – I’m glad I’ve inspired you to show your kid pictures! I can tell you were a cutie!

    Reply

  13. Fiora
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 14:10:33

    This is awesome !!! Good work

    Reply

Leave a Reply

