One of *Those* Days and . . .

Phew! It’s been one of *those* days here. If you have ever been through a major ice-storm listening to your favorite trees’ limbs breaking off, living with no electricity for over a week and ice everywhere inches thick, then you know how it feels when you see ice forming all over the trees and the weatherman says it isn’t letting up. I have been on pins and needles all day long just hoping my electricity stayed on (and I hope it still does because it’s not over with yet). Even though I don’t like ice accumulation on anything, it did make for a couple of cool photos. Here’s ice on the much blogged about Rose-Of-Sharon:

2007-01-15 004

And little icicles hanging all over from the top of my deck:

2007-01-15 001_1

One of the many times I looked outside, guess who I saw!! The grown up babies were back for a visit! These photos were taken through the sliding glass door so they wouldn’t bolt. Here’s a butt shot of the first one:

2007-01-15 017_1

And here’s the second one:

2007-01-15 020 2007-01-15 027

For anyone relatively new to my blog, I had two fawn lying all over my back yard this past summer. If you want to see photos that make you say “ahhhhh, they’re sooooo cute!” then you’ll want to click on the link to see the two fawns. It’s always nice to see “my” babies again!

I hope everyone has had a great day honoring the Rev. Martin Luther King Jr.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Jan 15, 2007 @ 17:09:01

    Oh, Pam. I’ll be thinking of you and wishing the best. I’ve been through horrible ice storms before… I must tell you how lovely that rose of sharon shot is and a really enjoyed the back-ends! You have made a somewhat frightening day into a bit of magic.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Jan 15, 2007 @ 18:26:49

    Thanks Mary! I don’t like it when the temperature sits right on the edge of freezing – you know exactly what I’m talking about, I’m sure. Now it has gotten colder, we have all of the ice on the trees still, and now it’s supposed to snow – argh!
    The Rose-of-Sharon shrub feeds many interesting birds in the summer so I’ve been able to see lots of bird action there.
    I love the butt-ends of the babies, too – they’re so cute!

    Reply

  3. Mon@rch
    Jan 15, 2007 @ 18:30:14

    This storm was very scary and I am glad that you didn’t get hurt at all! Those are some amazing pictures and love the one with the deer (didn’t know about your fawns, must go check it out)! Lets hope it makes up its mind and goes one way or the other!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Jan 15, 2007 @ 18:42:19

    Thanks Mon@rch – it still is kind of scary since snow is coming later. I do love ice photos even though it’s not good for the plants. Do you like deer butts as much as you like bird butts? I do!

    Reply

  5. Mary
    Jan 15, 2007 @ 20:07:19

    It’s been a butt-filled day. My fingers are crossed for you…

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Jan 15, 2007 @ 20:46:25

    Thanks Mary. Love all of the butts! Now the snow falls on top of the ice. . .

    Reply

  7. Lynne
    Jan 15, 2007 @ 20:52:38

    Whoooey! Those little babies have filled out! Gotta love a butt!

    Be careful out there- hoping your power stays ok.

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Jan 15, 2007 @ 21:04:04

    Lynne – yeah those babies have been eating their share this “winter!” Love those butts!
    Thanks for the well wishes – I hope it stays on too! I don’t feel like draining my sump pump all night (been there, done that before during a blizzard – not fun at all)!

    Reply

  9. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 15, 2007 @ 23:23:45

    Those deer look very well-fed. Baby’s got back.

    I love the ice on your deck. If it wasn’t so scary and cold and awful for you, it would rock.

    Stay warm and in the light (I hope)!

    Reply

  10. Pam
    Jan 16, 2007 @ 10:41:04

    Susan – yeah they sure do.
    Now that ice is under snow – I’ll have to remember that when I’ve shoveling after the snow stops.
    Still warm (well sort of – now its way cold outside) and light!

    Reply

  11. Lynne
    Jan 16, 2007 @ 13:21:12

    I had to come back to look again at the ice dripping through the top of your deck. I love that picture!

    Reply

  12. Pam
    Jan 16, 2007 @ 13:36:33

    Thanks Lynne! I’ve been visiting your blog and the blog you link to on your blog to see your bird photos again, too!

    Reply

  13. jason
    Jan 16, 2007 @ 16:45:03

    I have to tell you that deck photo is really beautiful despite the ice problem. You apparently got a lot more than we did, so I’m glad you’re doing well. As for the deer, that’s a fantastic looking animal. It obviously doesn’t miss any meals.

    Reply

  14. Sandy
    Jan 16, 2007 @ 17:09:32

    Love your ice photos!! But I am glad we didn’t have that this time around. We had freezing rain/ snow/ sleet, off and on for two days, but thank goodness, no build up.

    The deer look really healthy, don’t they? They must be getting enough to eat this winter. Do you have cedar trees in your yard? Our deer have trimmed ours into weird shapes.

    Reply

  15. Pam
    Jan 16, 2007 @ 18:55:03

    Jason – Thanks – so far the electricity has stayed on even with the snow piled on top of the ice.
    Yeah, the deer are getting really fat this year. I figure they were around my yard again because there were spots of green that weren’t iced over.

    Sandy – thank you! I’m glad you didn’t get it either! I’ll be glad when it warms up to melt the ice off the plants.
    No, I don’t have any cedar trees – but I’ve seen what deer do to cedars – they make them look really weird!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

