A Cold, But Magical Day

The precipitation finally stopped this afternoon and the sun came out for a little while before it set tonight. I went outside to get rid of the snow where it doesn’t belong and then took some photos. This photo of ice sparkling on my silver maple really caught my attention. Unfortunately the photo doesn’t do it full justice:

2007-01-16 008_2

The ice and snow was pretty on my lilac shrub:

2007-01-16 006_1

This shrub needs a serious pruning – I’ve never pruned it – the previous owners planted it *way* too close to the house and I threaten to take it out every year and never do. It does either need to come out or get a major pruning this summer.

Here’s the Rose-of-Sharon again with snow on top of the ice weighing it down even more than yesterday:

2007-01-16 001_1

I also like the little icicles hanging from my clothes line in back of this shrub. And here’s some ice and snow on the plants I leave in my garden:

2007-01-16 004_1

And now I know why I bolted out of bed from a sound sleep at midnight last night. I heard someone walking their dog across my lawn. I hate that with a passion . That’s what the road is for!
2007-01-16 005_1

(Why I hate it is if *they* get hurt on my property it would be *my* fault). Time to put in some Rosa rugosas around my property this summer! Not only are they really prickery, but I *love* the smell of the roses. Here’s a young one just starting to blossom in May of 2005.
26May2005 062 Rugosa Rose-Rosa rugosa_1

Ohhhh, I can’t wait to see color like that again!!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Jan 17, 2007 @ 09:46:59

    There have been a lot of “flowers” posted on blogs lately. What we take for granted during the spring and summer is what we miss this time of year. Pam, your photos are outstanding – again! I love the second one most of all but they are all good. You might have another entry for Good Planets, here, ya know. Keep your camera with you, please!

    Reply

  2. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Jan 17, 2007 @ 11:11:40

    I love the ice on the lilacs too: very pretty picture. I didn’t notice the icy clotheslines until you mentioned it. I think they look like strings of lights. It seems pretty nervy for someone to walk across your yard, especially with a dog, especially so late at night. People don’t think.

    Reply

  3. jason
    Jan 17, 2007 @ 13:09:44

    Great photos, Pam. I especially like the surreal image created by the clotheslines in the background. Looks like a great day for a good book, a cat or two, a warm blanket, and something good to eat. Oh, and a good cup of coffee.

    And you’re right about people walking on your property. Not only is it a liability issue, but it’s also downright inconsiderate.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Jan 17, 2007 @ 19:29:56

    Hi Mary – Oh yeah, I love the flowers on everyone’s blogs – your pansies yesterday were great! Thanks for thinking my photos are outstanding Mary! Back at you with the camera on you all of the time – I love the photos you capture, too!

    Hi Lynne – Thank you! The clothsline does look like strings of lights!
    Yeah people don’t think when walking their dog across my yard at midnight making loud noises wakes me up out of a sound sleep, and when that happens I get upset because I loves my deep sleep!

    Hi Jason – Thank you! It was a great day for indoor activity! The time I was outside I started to freeze up quick. Do you have a couple of spare cats I could borrow to keep me warm 😉 I think it’s time for some real prickery shrubbery around my property to keep rude people out!

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 18, 2007 @ 00:05:52

    At least ice is pretty. But I still feel bad for ya.

    Reply

  6. Mon@rch
    Jan 18, 2007 @ 00:56:47

    This ice you had up there was crazy! I am so glad that you and your family was safe and you didn’t loose any power! BTW: Those pictures are amzing! WOW Love the flowers!

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Jan 18, 2007 @ 09:42:22

    Hi Susan – thanks! I sent you an email about WordPress!

    Hi Mon@rch – it was crazy – and it was crazier more towards the city! Yeah, my parents stayed safe and didn’t lose power either – thankfully! Thanks for your concern!

    Reply

  8. mon@rch
    Jan 18, 2007 @ 13:57:20

    has it started melting yet?

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Jan 18, 2007 @ 14:01:20

    Mon@rch – ummmm, shoot, I need to get outside today! I had all kinds of plans to go photographing somewhere and then work started piling into my mailbox so I’ve been doing that all day! I’m not complaining about work though! I’ll get out and let you know!

    Reply

  10. Pam
    Jan 18, 2007 @ 14:57:47

    Thanks Mon@rch for prompting me to get away from my computer for a while and go outside! The ice is slowly melting off the trees, yay!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

