Baby It’s Cold Outside! Cummings Nature Center

I just got done roof-raking and shoveling snow *away* from my house (the snow plow man plows snow up against my house – for some reason that really bothers me), and I froze my hiney off! I’m sitting here unthawing as I write so I can climb into the shower again and warm up. We got 10 inches of light fluffy snow, except when the snow plow pushes it together it becomes very heavy. The wind chill factor is 0 and it’s supposed to get to -28 tonight. I think I’ll put another quilt on my bed tonight! So no, I’m not going to go looking for any birds today.

Instead, I’m pulling out my Cummings Nature Center photos I took on July 3, 2004. We walked The Conservation Trail, which is a trail that explains about the different conservation and management practices in the forest. Even though these red pines look too perfect planted like this, I still like the effect that it gives when looking down this path:

CNC_IMGP0004_07032004
Then I turned around and looked the other way:
CNC_IMGP0015_07032004

And then I looked up:
CNC_IMGP0005_07032004
I think I was using my old camera to take these photos, and didn’t realize I could fit the whole sign in one photo:
CNC_IMGP0010_07032004

CNC_IMGP0012_07032004
I upgraded to WordPress 2.1 and my writing interface is a bit different than I’m used to with the older WordPress (older being let’s see, 10 days older) so it’s a little bit of an adjustment, but I guess I’ll live! I hope you’re staying warm wherever you are today!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mon@rch
    Jan 25, 2007 @ 16:44:11

    Looks like the wordpress changes work great! Boy is it going to be cold tonight! I decided not to go CrossCountry Skiing because it is going to be so cold! And you are paying this guy to plow your driveway which you need to pull away from the house?

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Jan 25, 2007 @ 17:39:11

    Mon@rch – WordPress 2.1 doesn’t work with Mozilla like previous versions, I have to use Firefox, which is no big deal because I have four browsers I use to check out the websites I maintain. Once I had that figured out it was a matter of seeing what buttons were new, removed, etc. I still can’t add an Avatar which I would like to do.
    I’m glad you decided against X-Country Skiing tonight! I wouldn’t want you ending up as a big icicle. The kitties wouldn’t be happy! Hopefully you and your kitties are going to snuggle up together and keep warm!
    Yup, my Mom just got after me about the snow-plow guy, too. My house is set up such that the driveway butts right up to the house along the side and I have window wells. I assume the snow falls out the side of his plow onto my window wells and the space in between the wells and that’s the snow I have to get out of there.

    Reply

  3. swamette
    Jan 25, 2007 @ 19:00:30

    Wonderful woods.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Jan 25, 2007 @ 19:09:19

    Hi Swamette – thank you. I like red pine trees, too.

    Reply

  5. Mary
    Jan 25, 2007 @ 21:31:48

    Those woods are breathtaking. Lovely. So much snow and cold…my goodness. I’m almost jealous, Pam. I remember extreme cold that made the siding on the house whine and moan all night…below zero chills. It’s nice that you reflected on beautiful “snowless” views on a cold night. Stay warm!

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Jan 26, 2007 @ 08:50:23

    Mary – those woods are breathtaking! I can’t wait to feel the hot sun on my bare skin again! Arizona in March will be my reprieve from this weather! But I do love the snow and cold, too! I have to go back outside as soon as I finish reading blogs and eating breakfast and remove more snow from places I don’t want it to be.

    Reply

  7. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 26, 2007 @ 22:10:47

    Swamette is leaving comments now?????
    If my in-laws bug you in any way, Pam, you tell me. I will try to control them.

    How did I miss this post? Was I so drunk on Nyquil that I didn’t see it?
    I love, love, love those tree pics! I want to walk down between them with my arms outstretched.

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Jan 26, 2007 @ 22:17:20

    Susan – yeah, I didn’t know Swamette left comments! I was wondering if it was Swami in disguise, but I would have though he would have said more.
    I made two posts yesterday that’s probably why you missed this one!
    Thanks for loving the tree pics! That would be cool to see you walking down the path with your arms outstretched – that would make a cool photo.
    Me, I hugged a couple of them as tight as I could.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

