“As You Like It Inn,” More Camera Practice

I received an email from someone looking for information on my Great Great Aunt Abbie who ran an inn in called “As You Like It Inn” in Waterville, VT.
pg069-01
Gr-Gr-Aunt Abbie is my great grandfather’s sister on my dad’s mother’s side. I have photo postcards of the inn, but I don’t know anything about Abbie. So I asked my Dad, who remembered a couple of things. Next thing I knew he pulled out a big photo album full of . . . more very old family photos! Awesome! I thought I was done with all of the old family photos. So last night I scanned in two pages of these photos, and I’ll continue tonight. I’m uncovering some awesome photos of old family members I’ve never seen before! Here’s a covered bridge I found, too, probably taken in Vermont.
scan0002-3

I had every good intention of going to the lake to take photos today of the birds, but after running errands and washing my truck at the cheapie car wash using the sprayer I was completely frozen stiff and didn’t warm up for quite a while. It’s going in for a NYS Inspection and other stuff tomorrow, and I didn’t want the guys working on it to get all salty. Oh shoot, I just remembered I *left* my camera in the truck – all day – argh! I’ve never done that before.

Oh looky what I found when I went to get my frozen stiff camera! I am practicing with the AV mode, ISO 400, Fstop set at 6.3 instead of 4.0. The same moon that Mary saw last night! Hmmm, it’s kind of grainy, I have more work to do on learning this, and what’s with the spot in the corner? Just because I left it outside all day doesn’t mean it has to get attitudinal on me now! By the way, it was completely dark out when I took these photos.
2007-01-29 014
2007-01-29 006
2007-01-29 012

While you’re reading blogs, why not head on over and take Mon@rch’s Bird Quiz!

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mon@rch
    Jan 29, 2007 @ 20:56:18

    Thanks for the plug and glad to see you are testing out the new camera! Never been to vermont but would love to go boarding there some weekend! Thanks again!

    Reply

  2. Laura
    Jan 29, 2007 @ 21:18:55

    Maybe a moon flare because of the longer exposure?

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Jan 29, 2007 @ 21:20:45

    Mon@rch – you’re welcome. My camera isn’t new, it’s 2.5 years old, but I want to learn its’ features before I consider buying a new one.
    You should go to VT some weekend! From what I hear it is some of the most awesome skiing / boarding! And the mountains are so huge it takes a long time to get down them – what fun that would be!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Jan 29, 2007 @ 21:21:44

    Laura – oh yeah, that would make sense since it didn’t show up on all of the photos I took. Thank you!

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 29, 2007 @ 22:34:30

    The Moon can be a tough thing to get a good picture of. I like yours.
    And you made me laugh out loud at your use of “attitudinal”. You slay me.

    The Inn was so pretty! I would stay there.

    Reply

  6. Mary
    Jan 29, 2007 @ 22:39:50

    Pam, your moon is fantastic! I enjoyed the old photos, keep them coming. I like the “attitudinal” comment, too! Why can’t the cameras so all of the thinking for us and give excellent photos? I get tired of saying, “What in the hell is THAT?” in my viewer. My comments are quick tonight as I had Chloe at the vet this evening but she’ll be OK with some meds. I’m spent.

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Jan 29, 2007 @ 22:41:15

    Thanks Susan! It is tough. I guess I have to have a better camera than I have – but I like photographing it so I’ll continue trying when I see it.
    I would stay at the Inn, too! I loved visiting Waterville VT when I was young – I still have lots of family up there but never make it up there anymore.

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Jan 29, 2007 @ 22:43:30

    Thanks Mary! I’ll keep the old and new photos coming – and you too!
    I know I’m tempted to go back to auto mode on my camera, but I want to learn the other features so I’ll have to end up with some borderline photos in the meantime!
    Why was Chloe at the vet again???

    Reply

  9. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 00:19:46

    I do so love how we are all involved in each other’s lives. You knew, Pam, that Chloe had been to the vet, and we all cheer each other on, and we share our successes and failures and I just love everyone!
    (I am totally high on this cough syrup and I tend to get warm and fuzzy when I take it)
    BTW: Lynne and I are trying to set up a trip to Cape May this Fall, to see Laura and attend the birding festival. You know, Pam, Cape May isn’t too far for you, and Mary, you would be up for a drive to NJ, right?
    Let’s have a huge Blogger reunion! Wouldn’t that be a BLAST?
    (Even when I come down off this tipsiness (that is totally not a word) I will still want you to come join us for a get-together)
    Anyhoo.. I really need to go to bed.

    Reply

  10. Mary
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 08:03:26

    Susan’s loopy. I hope she’s sleeping in this morning. LOL! Yes, I’ll make the trip to NJ! It shall be a BLAST! Can you make the trip, Pam?????

    Reply

  11. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 09:38:57

    Love the name of the inn- I’d stay there! I think the next thing I try to learn to do with my camera is to take moon pictures too! (I wanna be just like you!)

    I’ll just wait until this cold snap is over first!

    Pam, Mary, Susan and LauraH- did you all get my group email that I sent to everyone? I strung out email addresses but if you didn’t get it I”l try again. I’m kind of computer challenged!

    Reply

  12. Pam
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 09:50:06

    Susan – I love everyone, too! I look forward to reading your blog posts to see what you’ve found / what you’ve been up to / what’s going on in general.
    I’ll be at Cape May – and it will be a blast to meet everyone and to bird and etc.! As Lynne says, Cape May will never be the same after we all visit!

    Mary – I’m so glad you’ll be going, too!!!

    Lynne – I rec’d your email – just responded – sorry I didn’t respond sooner! Yay! It will be a blast!
    Moon shots are tough as Susan said!
    I can’t wait until this cold snap is over, either. And today I’m stuck in my home because my vehicle needed some more work done on it than I originally had planned for. Wah – I wanted to get out today!

    Reply

  13. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 11:34:24

    Damn, I was stupid last night.
    And to top it off, I got ZERO sleep. I just laid there, thinking dumb things.

    Sounds like the Blogger Gals are going to take NJ by storm!
    Isn’t this going to be the coolest????????
    I can’t wait to meet all of you. We are going to have such a great time!

    From:
    Still Loopy in Loveland

    Reply

  14. Pam
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 11:39:55

    Susan – don’t you hate zero sleep – especially when you’re trying to get well!

    Going to Cape May IS going to be the coolest!! I’m so happy everyone is going to be able to make it! Woo Hoo! I can’t wait to meet you and everyone else!

    Hope you Get Well Soon!!

    Reply

  15. Tom Purchase
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 01:26:38

    I lived in Waterville from 1982-1991. The site of the Inn is a field now. Do you know the name, Alice Whiting? She was retired when I knew her, but as a young woman, she worked at the Inn, which was owned by a relative.
    There are three covered bridges in Waterville township. I remember only two: Church St, Montgomery.
    The people of Waterville are great and if you’d like more information, I’d be happy to share with you.
    Rev. Tom

    Reply

  16. Bob Whiting
    Oct 31, 2010 @ 17:44:17

    Hi,
    Just stumbled on this. Abby Whiting was my grandmother. I’ve been looking for photos of the Inn. If you have others, would you post them or e-mail them to me?

    Bob Whiting

    Reply

  17. Pam
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 13:10:46

    Hi Bob – I do have other photos. I’ll round them up and send them to you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

