Vehicle & Jobs, What ‘They’ Say I Want for Valentine’s Day

Okay, it’s decided. I have to go back to an 8 to 5 job in an office somewhere (yucko) so I can make more money. I hate the whole interview process. Just hire me. I’m one darned good worker with strong work ethics and I’m multi-talented. I’m one of those rare people you don’t find around much anymore. My problem is I don’t toot my own horn at the interview (it just sounds so fake) so those people who are all talk and no action tend to get the jobs I would like.

What started this? I took my Explorer in today to get an inspection and new tires/alignment. It ended up needing upper ball bearings and shims. Well, that’s okay since it’s been a good vehicle and I did beat it up badly this past year with all of the construction I went through. So I’m thinking about a new vehicle within the next couple of years (before something major goes).

And Mom would like to go to England and on an African safari (and so would I), and so I’ve got to make more money to support my habits. That’s all there is to it! And before you beat me up for having an SUV – I have a standard shift, two wheel drive vehicle and it’s a sport model so it doesn’t suck up as much gas as other SUV’s. It actually gets very good gas mileage. And besides, the idea of driving a teeny tiny car on the road with all of the huge SUV’s (bigger than mine) and mini-vans (ick) scares me to death.

Last night an article came to the front of Yahoo’s news entitled “How to Pick the Right Gift for Valentine’s Day.” Of course I had to go look to see what it is they think I would like for valentine’s day, and no surprise, they’re pretty much wrong as far as I’m concerned. Where do they come up with this stuff?

First – flowers. Nope. I grow my own flowers. And IMHO flowers are outrageously priced for Valentine’s Day. I’m too practical.
100_1737

Second – ‘A coupon for a backrub from you or drawing her the ultimate sensual bath, with no expectations!‘ Nope, I can draw my own bath (the water has to be just the right temp), and I don’t need a coupon to obtain a backrub.

Third – ‘A home-cooked meal by you…where you really do it all from start to finish.‘ Okay, not bad, just as long as it’s vegeterian and no hot peppers. I almost croaked once eating a raw hot pepper at a dinner made by a him for me. And vegeterian doesn’t mean a plate full of veggies with dip. I’m not a rabbit, argh.

Fourth – ‘A handwritten love note or a poem on fresh tree bark.‘ Nope. Please leave the tree bark on the tree. I wouldn’t be able to see the love note or poem for being torqued over the removal of precious bark from the tree.
LG_0020_04302004

Obviously whoever put this together didn’t get the memo that Kahlua chocolate-covered strawberries are where it’s at this year. Don’t get me wrong, I’m very romantic, but I’m also practical.

How about you, what do you like to receive or give for valentine’s day?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vicki
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 16:09:33

    Sorry about that 8-5 routine but it’s true- good habits need support. I’m weaning myself away from chocolate because the more I eat the more I want- and now I’ll only settle for the really really good stuff but I’m not willing to go 8-5 for chocolate. I think what I really want is this giant 5 foot diameter staghorn fern to hang from my oak tree. That, too, is a bit much so I’ll settle for some of those message candy hearts glued on a valentine as in years past. I always love these cards- sort of like edible magnetic poetry.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 16:19:37

    Vicki – for sure! I work from home now, but I need to tack on another job for a while. I can do the work from home routine in the evenings.
    Chocolate *is* so evil, isn’t it? I’ve moved to the really good dark chocolate so I don’t want as much of it. I did wean myself off of it once and it was tough! I wish you success!
    Ohhh, a staghorn fern would be awesome! A message candy heart on a valentine sounds really romantic. That would be fine with me too. I don’t like how much money some women expect men to spend on them. Not me. I like to keep it simple.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  3. Mary
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 20:02:43

    Pam, I am so darn silly tonight I was laughing at your post from beginning to end. I left MD/DE making a GREAT salary, then to NC where I am making BEANS! Beans, I tell you! I need another job to support my well deserved lifestyle, too! I have an SUV for the travel I have done in the past years. It’s so comfortable and my husband fits nicely in it but I’m looking for a smaller vehicle next summer. But it will need to give comfort for my trips to Maryland and Cape May πŸ™‚

    For Valentines Day, I will proclaim to all: No candy, flowers, candles or perfume. Gimme a gift certificate from Wild Bewds Unlimited. A hefty one!

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 21:02:53

    Mary – LOL! I know, that’s my problem now – I’m doing something I love but it pays beans, too. I had a really well paying job at one time. Now I want one again so I can do some extra stuff! My SUV is bouncy but I really like it. The next vehicle I’m looking at is a Chrysler Pacifica – that’s what I drive when I’m in Arizona and I *love* it. My friend works at a place where he can get me a great percentage off of one.
    Ohhhh, I love your valentine’s idea for sure! Bewd stuff!!!!!!!! Yay!! Hopefully your hubby will get the big hint!

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 22:17:39

    Even though my DH probably doesn’t read your blog, I must declare my Valentine’s wishes here and now:
    1. I want someone to help me plant all of my native goodies this year. I wore myself to a frazzle last spring and summer, and didn’t get half of what I wanted in the ground.
    2. I want a new car. Preferably purple and it must be a hybrid or some other alternative fueled vehicle.
    3. I want one of those huge feeder pole systems that can hold a dozen feeders. It would reduce the amount of poles we have to trim around from 10 to just 1.
    Yay! Cape May! This is so exciting.
    Was I a total joke last night?
    (I made sure that I didn’t take any cough syrup until I’m done commenting tonight.)

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 22:25:35

    Susan – great list of Valentine’s wishes!!! Argh, I hear you about planting all of your native goodies. If I didn’t have clay soil it might be easier.
    I want something hybrid or alternative fuel, too if I can be assured they’re not a royal problem. Who needs that!
    Ohhh, yeah, a huge feeder pole system would be cool! I have one that holds four feeders which is cool, but more would be better!
    Yay Cape May!! I think I’ll be in bewd overload down there!
    Don’t worry about your cough-syrup induced comments!

    Reply

  7. Sandy
    Jan 31, 2007 @ 17:21:17

    I didn’t even get online yesterday because of the car! We went to get some tires, and ended up needing more this and that done. So we had lunch at the mall, then went to Borders, and I ended with shopping while while husband read one of his new books. Rushed home late, to cook and then crashed.
    Good luck with your job search.
    I can hardly wait to see the photos from the safari!!!! A few years ago an 85 year old lady from our church went by herself to see the wildlife in Africa. She had a good time, too!

    Reply

  8. dmmgmfm(Laurie)
    Jan 31, 2007 @ 17:51:31

    I understand the need for an SUV. We just got my son a Honda Element. It gets fairly good mileage and it’s a 4 wheel drive. He LOVES it. I hope you find a job you will love as much as I love mine. I’m in the conservation field, which might be something that would interest you. πŸ™‚

    As for a Valentine’s gift, I’d love a full body massage, though that wasn’t really on the list was it?

    Reply

  9. Egret's Nest
    Jan 31, 2007 @ 19:50:30

    Oh, not diamonds? But all the radio ads are saying that this is the man’s big chance to get what he should have gotten her for Christmas. Diamonds. Puhlease!

    Here’s what I would like for Valentine’s Day . . .

    flowers (can’t grow many flowers here in winter)
    card with a sweet sentimental message
    a big bar of Scharffen Berger milk chocolate

    Those things would TOTALLY say I love you. Well, or a Rat Terrier. I’m eclectic! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. Pam
    Feb 01, 2007 @ 06:26:50

    Sandy – I can’t believe we both had our vehicles in on the same day, for almost the same thing, and ended up with more than we expected.
    That’s cool about the 85 year old lady going to Africa – by herself – now that is brave! Africa is in our future plans, but I’ll love to share photos I take from there!

    Laurie – that’s cool you bought your son an SUV!! I love mine more than a truck because I can still throw my gardening stuff in the backend and plants don’t get blown all over the place.
    A full body massage sounds wonderful! The list is whatever you want it to be!

    Reply

  11. Pam
    Feb 01, 2007 @ 06:35:38

    Liza Lee – ads for jewelry stores always think women wants diamonds! Diamonds don’t do it for me either! Hopefully your DH will come through with everything you would like – including your Rat Terrier! Here’s hoping you get him!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

