View From a Man’s Chair

Today I worked at OHA in Syracuse, and now that Sarah is gone, Mike was sitting at her desk for the first four hours, and I was sitting at Mike’s desk – sounds like musical chairs, huh? So I got his computer busy printing and saving files to the flash drives and meanwhile I started looking around and got the camera out. This is what I saw:
2007-01-31 001
This was given to the museum, I don’t know the history of this poor bird, I don’t want to know, because it really bothers me. Why did or do people have to stuff birds? And then why is this bird hanging upside down? I don’t know. The whole thing makes me feel bad.

To the right I was being watched over by:
2007-01-31 002
Was this guy killed for the sport of it, too? I’ll never know.

Mike plays Irish music, and this poster is really cool:
2007-01-31 003-1

And then I looked out the window (and plastic covering it) again, and saw the top of the McCarthy building I photographed last week:
2007-01-31 006

By the time I got home, the moon was in the trees – such a beautiful view – too bad the photos are still grainy using the AV Mode, ISO 400, FStop 6.3, hmmm:
2007-01-31 020

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Jan 31, 2007 @ 22:07:48

    I’m having trouble with comments tonight so here’s my second try…

    That MOON is STUNNING! Why do people stuff such beautiful creatures and why would the bird be facing down? Who knows. Whatever – they are gorgeous anyway.

    You are very talented with your camera, Pam.

    (What’s an F-stop? I’ll work on it…hmmmph)

    Reply

  2. Mon@rch
    Jan 31, 2007 @ 22:26:32

    Wow, an interesting day you had! Glad to see you are still working with the camera and trying different things! Sometimes I take my ISO’s up to 1600 for star shots although I have my F-stop set around 4ish or opened up more if possible! TOM

    Reply

  3. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Jan 31, 2007 @ 22:31:25

    I’m hoping you’ll help me tweek my photo skills in CAPE MAY!! Really, I want to work on improving my knowledge of the camera options. You are inspiring me.

    Blogger is stupid tonight.

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Jan 31, 2007 @ 23:15:14

    Get behind me in that line, Lynne. She’s gonna show me first!
    🙂
    I get the deer head on the wall, but the pheasant confuses me. Maybe because hunters carry them upside down out of the field? Still looks weird.
    Or maybe the person who hung it just didn’t know what they were doing?

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Feb 01, 2007 @ 06:43:12

    Mary – don’t you hate having to type what you already typed over again? I just had to do that on my post below – argh!
    I think stuffing birds was a victorian era thing to do. All of the photos I see of home interiors from that time period have stuffed birds and other stuffed animals. I don’t even know how you would dust one of those stuffed creatures. I envision a very stinky, dusty house with stuffed animals and flocked wall paper.

    Mon@rch – thanks, as always, for your help! ISO of 1600 – wow! Mine goes up to 400! I think I need to turn my f-stop the other way!

    Lynne – I feel like a huge novice myself – hopefully among all of us we’ll be able to figure some new cool things out! Blogger is stupid this morning. I can’t get onto Susan’s blog.

    Susan – LOL! I’ve got a lot of reading / practicing on the camera stuff! Maybe the bird is hung upside-down because he didn’t want the tail feathers hitting the filing cabinet. Maybe it’s because he’s artistic and thinks it’s cool hanging that way. Either way, stuffed anything creep me out!

    Reply

  6. Sandy
    Feb 01, 2007 @ 18:37:27

    I just took a moon shot off the porch. Hope it comes out as good as yours. Is that room you are working in part of the museum?

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Feb 01, 2007 @ 20:26:32

    Sandy – I look forward to seeing your shot of the moon from tonight. The museum is on the 1st and 2nd floors. The floor I was working on yesterday is the 5th floor which is the research center. This is the archivist’s office which isn’t visible to the public. It’s a nice cozy corner with a huge window, except for the stuffed creatures.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

