Growing Icicles, Squirrel Flinging Snow

This icicle on my neighbor’s house really freaks me out. It grows a little bit every day and I’m waiting to see just how long it will get before something happens. I took this photo through my window:
2007-02-03 001-1

And then I was looking for anything moving and saw this squirrel flinging snow – wait for it, he’ll fling the snow twice – I thought it was too cute even though I haven’t got the art down of not moving (sorry it’s a wiggly video taken from far away and through my sliding glass door).

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Feb 03, 2007 @ 17:08:16

    I can’t get your movie to work. 😦

    I loved those long icicles when I was a kid. We loved breaking them off and licking them (yuck!). Of course we believed that we were cheating death, knowing that those icicles could snap off at any moment and impale us!!

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Feb 03, 2007 @ 22:23:02

    I couldn’t open the video, either, Pam. But those icicles are worth the wonder. My Goodness! Dangerous! I enjoyed your observations and hope to see the squirrel flinging snow! I’ll try again tomorrow.

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Feb 03, 2007 @ 23:01:55

    Oooo! Don’t walk under those, girl!
    Reminds me of a book I read years ago: The Lovely Bones
    In the book, some of the characters are at a Science camp and are asked to come up with the perfect murder weapon. The ghost in the story thinks an icicle would be it. After the crime, the weapon would melt away.
    *shiver*

    Reply

  4. jason
    Feb 04, 2007 @ 09:15:38

    I love the squirrel. He knew there was a nut buried there under all that snow. It was just a matter of finding it.

    And the icicles are beautiful and frightening at the same time. I’m with Lynne when it comes to childhood: we used to lick them as well without a bit of fear for our lives. My siblings and I were probably equal doses stupid and innocent to stand under them trying to break one off as a treat (you know, why didn’t we just go get an ice cube out of the freezer!?).

    Reply

  5. endment
    Feb 04, 2007 @ 09:24:54

    Those icicles are impressive

    Took me a bit to get the video to work — I finally quit trying to get it to play with the large arrow and used the little one down on the bottom of the bar – amazing – when I pressed the play button — it played
    All these confusing signals 🙂

    Reply

  6. Sandy
    Feb 04, 2007 @ 10:56:37

    It took a while, but I got the squirrel video going. They are interesting little guys, aren’t they?
    I have only used my movie feature a couple of times, and the first one was by accident. It was a nice little movie of my knee, while riding in the car!

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Feb 04, 2007 @ 11:23:58

    Lynne – I’m sorry the movie didn’t work – does it now? I changed it to public.
    Oh yeah! I have the same memories breaking off icicles and licking them too! It was actually quite refreshing at the time because being outside in the winter was hard play!

    Mary – I’m hoping you can see the video today, even though it isn’t the best. I loved seeing the squirrel flinging snow and finding his buried treasure!

    Susan – OMG that would be the perfect weapon, wouldn’t it! Hmmmmm. . .

    Jason – It amazes me how squirrels know right where their food is buried! I would forget if I had buried food all over the place! Ice cubes out of the freezer would require a trip *into* the house (boring removing all your outside clothes). Who wanted to do that when you could grab an icicle!

    Endment – I would say the longest one is about 4 feet now.
    Thanks for telling me what you had to do to get the video to work – sorry it took your time though!

    Sandy – I think it needed to “download” and that may be why it is taking so long, I don’t know! I’m new to this video stuff.
    This is the third movie I’ve done – I have a long ways to go, but I want to practice so I’m comfortable with it so when I see something awesome happen I can capture it!

    Reply

  8. Mon@rch
    Feb 04, 2007 @ 11:51:54

    Love knocking down the ice! Just use something long so that they don’t hit you! Also, loved your video clip!! So glad with you new chip that you are able to do this! BRAVO!

    Reply

  9. Mary
    Feb 04, 2007 @ 18:45:13

    Pam, I followed Endment’s advice and it worked! Those squirrels are fun to watch unless they are cleaning out your bird feeders. Good video!

    Reply

  10. Pam
    Feb 04, 2007 @ 20:05:29

    Mon@rch – me too! I love the sound it makes when it hits the ground. I was thinking of offering to knock her icicles off her house, but I would want to break anything. Thanks, I’m glad you liked the video!

    Mary – Thanks! I’m glad it worked for you! I agree, I love the squirrels as long as they’re eating their own food, and not the bewd’s food!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

