The Moon, The Stars and The Flash Card

So I went to bed early with every intention of getting to sleep earlier than I have been and also so I can get up early tomorrow and remembered I didn’t get my US mail. And with my new flash card for my camera expected any day I figured it may be out in the mailbox getting colder and colder. So I got up, got my outside duds on, and what did I see when I went out? The full moon and a sky full of stars – I haven’t seen stars here in a long time due to all of the ambient light. And since it was snowing earlier I didn’t even bother looking for the moon. So I was out at 11:30 in way below freezing temps taking moon and star photos. Not as interesting as the other night and a bit off center due to my wiggling at high zoom, but still, a nice full moon.

2007-02-02 014-1

And I didn’t feel like raking my roof today and knocking icicles down (bad Pam) and those created eerie shadows in the night.

2007-02-02 017

Oh, and my flash card did arrive, I let it warm up while I was out taking photos. I just stuck it in, formatted it, and I can now take ten times the amount of photos (that’s ridiculous – 1195 photos) but the part I like is I’ll be able to take photos and movies without using up the entire card in one place. What did I end up buying? A 2G flash drive. Why? I did the math. A 512M flash drive cost $20. A 2G flash drive cost $45. A 4G flash card costs $180 (that’s out of the picture, so to speak). If I bought 4 512M cards it would cost $80. 2G is obviously the way to go money-wise right now. And it takes up less room to carry a 2G card around than 4 512M cards.

Now I’m going back to bed.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. endment
    Feb 03, 2007 @ 11:48:02

    The moon kept me awake for hours last night. What a wonderful moon! Your photo is well worth going out in the cold:)

    Reply

  2. Sandy
    Feb 03, 2007 @ 13:10:11

    This is a great moon shot! Don’t you just hate it when you have to go back out and get the mail??
    I just tried to add another moon on my moon post. Couldn’t get it neat, so will do it tomorrow. It is not as good as yours, for sure.

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Feb 03, 2007 @ 15:41:32

    Endment – thanks, it’s nice to see you back in the blog world! The moon was wonderful last night, even though it was very cold.

    Sandy – thanks! Yes, and my mailbox isn’t just at the end of my driveway, it’s in a cluster with other neighbors’ boxes so I have to walk up the road a bit.

    Reply

  4. Mary
    Feb 03, 2007 @ 22:27:56

    Pam, this morning when I stepped outside at 6:55 a.m., I saw the same moon in the west! Our skies were clear and I thought about getting my camera but I was too darn groggy to care. But I did notice…

    Good job with the bargain shopping. I have a 1G – plenty for me. But when visiting Cape May, I might need more 🙂 Am I making sense????? It’s been a very long day.

    Reply

  5. jason
    Feb 04, 2007 @ 09:17:39

    I’m glad you mentioned the flash card, Pam. I’ve been using a 512 MB card since I bought my camera three years ago–and I’ve filled it up on more than one occasion. Of course, back then the larger cards were much more expensive. You’ve inspired me to upgrade!

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Feb 04, 2007 @ 11:14:21

    Mary – LOL! I understand about being too groggy to take photos! Glad you noticed it though!
    Yeah, 1G would have been plenty for me, but 2G is the latest cheapie for drives and cards, at least from what I’ve seen.
    Oh yeah, for Cape May, you’ll need lots of storage space! LOL!

    Jason – I understand about filling cards! I was using a 256M which was the cheapie at the time I bought the camera. I never buy the latest and greatest anything, knowing that it will come down in price in a year or less and tick me off that I spent all that money! BTW – I found 2G flash drives that I bought at really low cost, too, in case you need any of those.

    Reply

  7. Mon@rch
    Feb 04, 2007 @ 11:39:20

    2G is perfect for you and can’t wait to see the video’s you are able to capture! Love your moon shot and I am one who loves knocking off the ice from the roof! 🙂

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Feb 04, 2007 @ 20:07:27

    Mon@rch – I can’t wait to go on vacation to see what I capture! Also can’t wait ’til it warms up a little here so I can see birds etc. again! You can come knock ice off my roof anytime you want! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

