What Is That in the Bay??

You just have to see this. Lookie what I spotted on/in Irondequoit Bay today:
2007-02-06-008_

Can you make it out? It was far away from where I was standing so the photo stinks.

Somebody DROVE their SUV onto the ice on the bay! And as you can see, it fell through. Somebody obviously doesn’t understand the physics of ice formation on water.

UPDATE: Turns out there were four kids joyriding on the ice. Alrighty then. They had to crawl out through the windows. And according to the DEC, this Trail Blazer SUV is not leaking any fuel into the bay. It damned well better not be. I so do not want to see any dead waterfowl, fish and/or plants down there.

There were quite a few ice fisherman huts out on the ice in the bay. I bet they’re happy!
2007-02-06-009_

At first I forgot I had my camera on AV, ISO-400 (wrong ISO for sunshine) and this next photo came out very bright! Although it is very sunny out, I froze my nose off after just a minute of shooting photos. Not only that, but the wind was blowing me all over the place! I’m glad to be back inside.

2007-02-06-001_

I hope everyone stays nice and warm! šŸ™‚

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Feb 06, 2007 @ 18:20:52

    Too bad about the car going under. I’ll bet that kid is doing some fancy talking tonight!
    I see that my neighbors ice shack is still in the yard. We have had such a weird weather winter, that the ice isn’t strong enough yet in southern Maine. Well, maybe after these last two cold, miserable days, it might be getting there.
    Do you change your iso between shots? I never do, will have to look into that.
    That last shot does kind of look like it was taken in the Bahamas, doesn’t it?

    Reply

  2. Susan Gets Native
    Feb 06, 2007 @ 18:29:01

    Sigh. Youth is wasted on the young.
    At first, I thought it was a bear, taking a nap on the ice.

    I LOVE that last picture! You should take more shots on that setting. It looked warm.

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Feb 06, 2007 @ 19:12:43

    Sandy – I was thinking the same thing – I bet the Mom and Dad who owned this vehicle (assuming its owned by parents) are really ticked off tonight.
    I don’t have too many ISO settings on my camera, but I use 400 at night and 100 during the day. I don’t know if that’s right or not. I’m still playing with it. Yes, the last shot looks like it is really warm, instead of way below freezing!

    Susan – you’re so right about youth – and the energy that they have, too! A bear! That’s a good guess! It does look like a bear, doesn’t it!
    I wonder what will happen when I use ISO-400 in Arizona. Now I’m going to have to try that!

    Reply

  4. Mon@rch
    Feb 06, 2007 @ 20:11:31

    first saw this picture on flickr and it still is shocking seeing again! What were they thinking? I know people drive on the ice but this year even with the cold temps we have been having? You wouldn’t even catch me walking out there on the ice!

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Feb 06, 2007 @ 20:35:40

    Mon@rch – I can’t believe it either. I only wish the wind wasn’t whipping me around so I could have gotten a better photo. My tripod wasn’t in my truck, so I was on my own.
    I don’t know what they were thinking. Kids will be kids I guess. Yeah, I wouldn’t walk out on the ice either! I would want to be in a deep freeze for at least a month before I *may* trust it. Nah, I still wouldn’t!

    Reply

  6. Mary
    Feb 06, 2007 @ 22:17:25

    Pam, I can’t believe that. I thought it might have been a bear, too. Youthful folly at it’s worst.

    Send some more of the warm shots. I think I’m going to go into my photo archives and starting posting HOT pictures. We are all tired of cold…so tired.

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Feb 06, 2007 @ 23:00:08

    Mary – yeah, the more I think about it – what insurance company is going to cover this? So it’s $30K more or less down the tubes?? It’s got to be a parent’s vehicle, because no hardworking kid would do this to their own vehicle.
    Oh, I’ve got HOT shots too, I’ll have to start posting them, too! Hot shots coming up!

    Reply

  8. endment
    Feb 06, 2007 @ 23:00:24

    The photo and your description sets my imagination free to think of many things that may be happening in a home this evening… Perhaps I ought to put my imagination to rest šŸ™‚

    I keep trying out new settings on my camers – It would be wonderful if I could find someone who really knew what they were doing to explain the handbook to me šŸ™‚

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Feb 06, 2007 @ 23:09:34

    Endment – it is me too. I know what would have happened in my parent’s home – I wouldn’t have been able to sit down for a year, and I would have had to work every penny of the worth of that vehicle off to pay for a new one. Basically, I wouldn’t have done it in the first place. But who knows with some kids these days. I don’t know.

    I’m slowly trying to understand my camera, too. I’m thinking of looking for a Camera for Dummies type of book to explain f-stop and ISO and etc. to me so I really understand it. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  10. Trackback: A Blog Around The Clock
  11. suzy
    Feb 09, 2007 @ 01:54:02

    Happy to come across your site, we lived in webster for 4 years overlooking the bay.We loved it there!

    Reply

  12. Pam
    Feb 09, 2007 @ 09:03:17

    Hi Suzy – thanks for commenting! I’ll be posting more on Webster as soon as this seemingly unending snow stops here! I love it here, too. It gets into your blood to live so close to all of the water, doesn’t it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

