Cyanotypes, Sepia Mode, Yates Castle, Truck in Bay

I fell in love with cyanotypes when I first saw postcards of the cyanotypes of plants from Liberty Hyde Bailey. While scanning in the Yates Castle photos, I came across three cyanotypes that I also loved. And then I read somewhere that you can make your own cyanotypes (think blueprints) from your modern day photos. So of course I had to try it out on one of the photos I took at 1000 Acre Swamp:
2007-01-04-013-cyan-72

It takes quite a bit of playing around, and I still don’t have it right (it looks too bright to me), but I kind of like it. I wouldn’t want to do this to all of my photos, but it’s fun for a change. Have you ever seen cyanotypes? Do you like them?

And this morning I read a post on Lillian Stokes’ blog about sepia photos. So of course I had to try the sepia setting on my camera. This is a photo of the shagbark hickory that has been the model in several of my other photos. I guess I should have raised the ISO setting since it’s snowing out – again:
2007-02-08 002_sm

I feel like I’m working with OHA’s old photos! And speaking of OHA’s old photos, here’s a close up of another one of the newspaper clippings from the Syracuse Post Standard, January 16, 1955, showing one of the hospitals overtaking the Yates castle grounds, which eventually led to its demolition. 😦
Yates Castle Post Standard 1995-01-16

And the truck that fell into the bay the other day was hauled out in pieces to the tune of $5,000.00. Yes, that’s Five Thousand Dollars.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Feb 08, 2007 @ 18:31:41

    No, I don’t know about cyanotypes, but will have to try doing them. I was outdoors a while ago trying different iso settings on my camera. Works well, thanks for mentioning it the other night.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Feb 08, 2007 @ 18:38:02

    Sandy, If you go through the Liberty Hyde Bailey exhibition at the link above you’ll see how cyanotypes are supposed to look – not like what I made! There is software for PhotoShop, but I haven’t figured it out yet.

    I’m looking forward to seeing your photos with the different ISO settings.

    Reply

  3. Mon@rch
    Feb 08, 2007 @ 21:05:10

    Also, never heard of Cyanotypes! But they do look neat! Some of my snow pictures turn out like this but I always play with the white balance to make them look more normal! I have used the sepia before! Great work and thanks for this great info! Which photoshop are you using?

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Feb 08, 2007 @ 21:24:26

    Mon@rch, Thanks! Cyanotypes are much cooler than the one I tried to do. I use Photoshop 7.0. What do you use?

    Reply

  5. Mary
    Feb 08, 2007 @ 21:40:06

    I’ve never heard of Cyanotypes, either, but I like it on the 1000 acre swamp. Sepia really creates a mood, don’t you think? I can only imagine what is going on in those households dealing with that truck…

    Pam, you are doing a great job with that camera. I look forward to learning a lot from you! Keep posting those experiments!

    I’m going to spend some time over the weekend with my simple camera and experiment with it – I’m looking forward to it!

    Reply

  6. Susan Gets Native
    Feb 08, 2007 @ 21:54:38

    I have played with the RGB settings on my photo editor and come up with some cool stuff, but I am usually trying to brighten up a bird in low light.

    And the truck had to come out in pieces??? What a dumb kid.
    I wonder how his parents are taking that $5000 out of his hide.

    Reply

  7. endment
    Feb 09, 2007 @ 08:03:20

    Fascinating new information – Thanks

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Feb 09, 2007 @ 09:07:29

    Mary – Sepia is moody! I love it. I love it when I come across old sepia photos, too. Actually all I have to do is open any photo folder at OHA and there’s usually sepia photos.
    I’ll come up with some more experiments, I’m sure. I need to learn some more about my camera this weekend, too.

    Susan – oh yeah, me too – trying to brighten the photos a bit – that’s why I’m playing with the AV mode.
    Yup, the truck had to come out in pieces! I tried to capture the photo on the TV, but it went away before I could get my camera out its case.

    Endment – you’re welcome. I’ll say it again – It’s so nice to have you back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

