In Search of The Sweet Smell of Dirt

After reading Julie’s post about her visit to the conservatory in Pittsburgh, I really got an intense craving for the smell of dirt and the wonderful feel of conservatory humidity. When you live in an area that feels like the artic at times, you really get to missing the smell of dirt. My soils professor would have a cow that I call it dirt instead of soil. But that’s what it is to me. Dirt. I dig in the dirt. I don’t dig in the soil. La te da to calling it soil.

2007-02-10-012_sm

I went to the Lamberton Conservatory to smell and see dirt and plants and color, and to feel high humidity to get warm. Real warm. Sweaty warm. It was all good. I didn’t remove any layers of clothing, it felt so good to revel in the heat.

2007-02-10-011_sm

And to play with my camera. I won’t blog about that now because I have to figure out what I did and didn’t do right. Or should I say what I like and don’t like!
2007-02-10-016_sm

Everything I saw soothed my soul.
2007-02-10-024_sm

The water features provided great opportunities for movies. There were more water feature movies I took, but they turned out very loud!


Click To Play


Click To Play

Here’s the turtle statue in the first water feature.

2007-02-10-023_sm

Across from the turtle in the water – a bird “house!”

2007-02-10-019_sm

With the sweetest little birds. Here’s one for you:

2007-02-10-022_sm

I love epiphytes, ferns, orchids and plants from other countries (inside conservatories for the exotics is okay to me).

2007-02-10-024_sm

2007-02-10-075_sm

2007-02-10-063_sm

A Brazilian tree Philodendron (Philodendron selloum) that looks like an octopus.

2007-02-10-054_sm

A fern.

2007-02-10-037_sm

Flowers way up high:

2007-02-10-084_sm

Bananas anyone?

2007-02-10-101_sm

Close-up of the banana flower:

2007-02-10-104_sm

I love the leaf of the Cut-Leaf Philodendron (Monstera deliciosa). It looks like it would survive a nasty wind storm. It has an interesting latin name, too!

2007-02-10-056_sm

A peaceful place to sit and enjoy the plants:

2007-02-10-055_sm

Cute Bunny-Ears Cactus (Opuntia microdasys) for all of the bunny lovers:

2007-02-10-115_sm

Outside the Lamberton Conservatory.

2007-02-10-161_sm

Lamberton Conservatory is located in Highland Park, which is known world wide for its Lilac Festival which occurs in May. And, I just remembered – there’s a castle with a sunken garden in the park!!!!!! Woo Hoo!!! I’ll be going back there soon!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mon@rch
    Feb 10, 2007 @ 19:17:23

    Wow, you were busy today! Just look at all those photos and I see you had a few videos also! Great job and also a great way to remind you that spring is near!

    Reply

  2. Laura
    Feb 10, 2007 @ 20:57:09

    Thank you for this beautiful visit with summertime.

    Back to shivering now. šŸ˜‰

    Reply

  3. laurie
    Feb 10, 2007 @ 22:33:35

    Wow, those are awesome photos and videos. Thanks for bringing some spring to my day!

    Reply

  4. Mary
    Feb 10, 2007 @ 22:34:14

    Pam, I’m glad you had a nice vacation from the cold and snow. Wow. I could almost feel the warmth and smell the dirt. La de da.

    Those videos are great. You know I like water…were there any koi in those ponds?

    Flowers, ferns, warm…not too far away… and we’ll have it all.

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Feb 10, 2007 @ 22:39:51

    Call me dumb, but I never thought about banana trees having flowers! How cool! It’s the color of merlot!
    What a nice idea, to go and soak up some warmth while being surrounded by exotic plants. Ahhh….

    Reply

  6. jayne
    Feb 11, 2007 @ 08:00:45

    How very beautiful! I could just feel the heat in there.

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Feb 11, 2007 @ 20:32:38

    Mon@rch – Yup I was busy trying out different camera features! Yes, spring is coming! I can’t wait!

    Laura – You’re welcome! I hear you, I’m shivering as I sit here typing this. Can’t wait for a little outdoor heat!

    Laurie – Thank you! And you’re welcome! I think we all can use some color and warmth this time of year. I just wish I could give you the smell of the place, too!

    Mary – it was nice – I wanted to go back today! I enjoyed feeling hot again!
    Oh Mary – I totally forgot to look for fish!! Now I’ll have to go back soon!

    Susan – I didn’t know they did either until my friend Rosa from Brazil pointed the flower out to me – her family has a banana plantation. Can you imagine how cool it looks?

    Jayne – Thank you – the heat was wonderful! I could use some that heat now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

