Amaryllis

My Mom grows amaryllis to help add color inside during the long northern winters. My Dad took these two photos of the latest beauty because my Mom wanted to make sure I saw it, if not in person, then via photos. As it happens, it was still blossoming when I visited today, but I still love it that my Dad took photos for me. So I would like to share his photos with you!
101_0001_sm

My Mom keeps her house plants in the bay window in the winter time. The cord you see in the photo is leading to the Johnson Bros. Friendly Village electric water fountain that I gave to her for Christmas a couple of years ago. The plants absolutely thrive with the extra humidity from the waterfall.

101_0002_sm

This is such a gorgeous color. Of course, I didn’t bring my camera with me today so I could practice using my camera on this gorgeous blossom. Oh well. I hope you enjoy it!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mon@rch
    Feb 11, 2007 @ 20:27:43

    Wonderful large flower! I also like those little yellow ones!!

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Feb 11, 2007 @ 20:36:12

    Mon@rch – it’s beautiful to see in person. I can’t look at it enough – it’s so perfect. I love the little yellow ones, too!

    Reply

  3. Mary
    Feb 11, 2007 @ 21:48:14

    You Dad is a sweety. Are we all thinking flowers now? Yes!!!! I think we all need splashes of color during these gray months. I love that amaryllis! Color, color, color! Shades of pink, blue, bright green, yellow…instead of the dull shades of winter. I am thinking of posting COLOR once a week until Spring arrives. Thanks, Pam.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Feb 11, 2007 @ 21:53:23

    Mary – I’m very thankful to have my Dad and Mom – I try not to take them for granted not for a minute.
    Oh yes, I’m thinking flowers big time. My Mom and I started planning her gardens so she can order seeds, bulbs, corms, whatever else is necessary.
    Yes please! Post color! I love seeing your blue skies – your photos pick me up every day! Thank you Mary!

    Reply

  5. Laura
    Feb 11, 2007 @ 22:28:35

    Beautiful flower and so sweet of your dad to want to share it with you!

    Reply

  6. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Feb 11, 2007 @ 22:45:41

    I can’t get enough of beautiful flowers in February!

    Reply

  7. Susan Gets Native
    Feb 11, 2007 @ 23:18:16

    I forgot that colors other than white and brown existed. Thanks for the reminder.

    I really want to start planning my attack on the yard, but it’s hard to get into the mood with a foot and a half of snow coming.

    Reply

  8. laurie
    Feb 12, 2007 @ 00:19:59

    How incredibly beautiful. Thank you for sharing.

    Reply

  9. jayne
    Feb 12, 2007 @ 06:56:33

    My sister just gave my dad two amaryllis for his birthday. Can’t wait to see them bloom like this. Beautiful!

    Reply

  10. Pam
    Feb 12, 2007 @ 08:54:10

    Laura – it’s more beautiful in person – I couldn’t stop touching it softly!

    Lynne – me neither! I love looking at flower catalogs too!

    Susan – me too. Until Saturday, and now I can’t stop! My Mom is really good about getting in the mood for planning the gardens. I’m not as good with my own yard!

    Laurie – thanks, and you’re welcome! We need beautiful things don’t we?

    Jayne – oh, that’s a wonderful gift that I’m sure your Dad will enjoy!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

