An Old Fashioned Happy Valentine’s Day!

My great-grandparents had to live apart during the week since my great-grandfather worked at Stickley Furniture in Manlius, NY as a japanner, and they owned a house in South Onondaga, NY. No big deal these days, but back then travelling across town was a big deal. So my great-grandfather sent my great-grandmother quite a few postcards across town. One of these postcards is an old Valentine’s Day card, with a postmark of Feb 11, 1908. Since I *love* old stuff, I decided to reuse this postcard to wish all of my blogging friends an old fashioned Happy Valentine’s Day! I hope everyone has a very happy day tomorrow! Hugs to everyone!

Valentine's-Day-PC-1908_sm

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth
    Feb 13, 2007 @ 19:00:03

    I love old things and the card is a gem! I have heard stories from older people in this area who lived just outside town, but boarded in town during the week to work. Transportation was just too expensive or not readily available.
    Thanks for the lovely Valentine story. A happy old-fashioned Valentine’s Day to you too.

    Reply

  2. Mon@rch
    Feb 13, 2007 @ 20:18:38

    Happy V-Day to you and also love the Old Fashioned Cover! Hope you enjoy your day!

    Reply

  3. laurie
    Feb 13, 2007 @ 20:53:31

    The card is awesome. I absolutely love old cards and that is a gem.

    Reply

  4. Mary
    Feb 13, 2007 @ 21:33:25

    How sweet this story is… Thanks for sharing this old card, and Pam, have a wonderful St. Valentine’s Day!

    Reply

  5. Laura
    Feb 13, 2007 @ 21:52:00

    Thank you – it’s beautiful!

    By the way – what’s a japanner?

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Feb 13, 2007 @ 21:55:17

    Ruth – Thank you! I can’t imagine how hard it must have been to have to live apart like this week after week!

    Mon@rch – Thanks! – and I hope you enjoy your day, too!

    Laurie – Thank you! I’ll have to scan in some more old cards and post them for your enjoyment! They are fun to look at!

    Mary – You’re welcome Mary! I hope you have a wonderful day, too!

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Feb 13, 2007 @ 22:03:31

    Laura – you’re welcome! I looked up japanner and came up with the following:
    “One who varnishes in the manner of the Japanese, or one skilled in the art.”

    “Japanning is the art of applying a black lacquer to wood, metal etc, or work lacquered in a Japanese fashion. Hence a japanner is someone skilled in doing such work.”

    And this website:
    http://www.localhistory.scit.wlv.ac.uk/Museum/metalware/japtech.htm

    I don’t associate Stickley Furniture with having Japanese decoration, so I have come to the conclusion that he was one who applied a varnish to the furniture. I could be proven wrong when I look into the history of Stickley furniture!

    Reply

  8. jayne
    Feb 14, 2007 @ 06:58:55

    What a cool card! Happy Valentine’s Day to you too Pam!

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Feb 14, 2007 @ 08:03:11

    Thanks Jayne! I hope you enjoy your day!

    Reply

  10. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Feb 14, 2007 @ 09:32:39

    Happy Valentine’s Day to you too Pam!

    Reply

  11. Pam
    Feb 14, 2007 @ 09:48:18

    Thanks Lynne! I hope you have a happy day!

    Reply

  12. Susan Gets Native
    Feb 14, 2007 @ 22:37:54

    Happy Valentine’s Day!

    From someone else who is totally sick of all this snow!

    Reply

  13. Pam
    Feb 15, 2007 @ 11:47:30

    Susan – Thanks! I’m done with this winter! Let’s move on to spring now!

    Reply

  14. caroline in south dakota
    Feb 15, 2007 @ 19:19:15

    Love the valentine…I collect antique postcards and the various holiday ones are my favorites! Sometimes the messages on the reverse are more collectible than the colorful fronts.

    Reply

  15. Pam
    Feb 15, 2007 @ 21:19:35

    Caroline – thanks – I love antique postcards too! I could look at them all day – even more so than the original photographs. I love the holiday cards, too. Much better than the cards of today, IMHO. I can imagine the messages on the back are more collecticble if they have some really great info!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

