I’m on Strike. . .

. . . from shoveling snow. Okay, I shoveled the bit that plow-man shoved in front of the garage door, and I knocked the icicles down. But that’s it. Between working, I’ve been learning more about photography. And realized I was out of batteries to play with my camera. So I went to BJ’s. I love BJ’s. Mega batteries for real reasonable. Mega anything for real reasonable. Holiday and birthday cards for 1/2 price. (Relatively) cheap gas. Gotta love ’em.

It is so cold out the snow squeaks when I walk on it. It’s snowing sideways and getting bad again. I don’t care. I’m not shoveling squat.

Back to photography – I got the book “Understanding Exposure” revised edition by Bryan Peterson. I love it! I love his analogies, they really help drive home what Mon@rch has been teaching me. So now I’m feeling brave about using the M mode (manual) on my camera. Now for a subject besides snow to perform tests on. I’ll figure something out soon! Since I’m eyeballs deep in this book, I’ll leave you with a photo I took in May of 2005 at Brookside Gardens of wisteria:
IMGP0022
I can’t wait to see wisteria again. I can’t wait to see any flowers growing outside.  Soon – they’ll be here soon!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. laurie
    Feb 15, 2007 @ 19:57:13

    Very beautiful. Enjoy your book and then tell us all about it!

    Reply

  2. Mon@rch
    Feb 15, 2007 @ 20:59:45

    Can’t wait for these pictures to come through! Like I said, I am still an auto man with my point & shoot when its not somewhere else!! But, it great to understand the details on how everythign works! If you have any questions, you have my email! Give those arms a rest!

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Feb 15, 2007 @ 21:25:54

    Laurie – thank you! I am enjoying it – and I’m typing notes so I can practice and understand and hopefully post some results!

    Mon@rch – You would LOL! I have been doing tests going from one extreme to the other from large to small aperture and fast to slow speed settings. I may need more flash cards for all of my tests! Then I see what auto thinks it should be and I don’t always agree with it!
    Oh yeah, my arms got a much needed rest today. Back at the gym tomorrow, as long as I don’t have to shovel all day again!

    Reply

  4. Mary
    Feb 15, 2007 @ 22:12:28

    Hey, Pam. I hear a lot of spunk in your voice tonight. “Pissed off Pam”, tired of the white stuff! LOL!!!!!! Turn your back on that shoveling and get into that book! I’m still an automatic camera kind of gal, but I’ll follow your lead, smart lady.

    Reply

  5. Susan Gets Native
    Feb 15, 2007 @ 23:38:03

    Oooohhh, Pissed off Pam! I love it when all you girls get cranky!
    I am officially ignoring the snow and ice in the driveway, and on the trees, and on the house, and on the sidewalks, and on the roads….

    Wisteria…I have had one for three years, and it has yet to do anything but attempt to strangle a nearby tree. I planted it in a corner, with visions of it draping the fence with purple blossoms. And it just sits there and gets bigger and grows little green spaghetti shoots.

    Keep learning that camera stuff. Then you can teach me.

    Reply

  6. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 01:27:06

    Wisteria- I don’t think I’ve ever seen it before. Beautiful!!

    I’m glad your arms didn’t fall off!! 🙂

    Reply

  7. jayne
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 06:54:46

    Can’t wait to hear more about what you learn from “the book.” The wisteria is a beautiful reminder that spring IS around the corner (easy for me to say where it hardly EVER snows… ducking the snow balls thrown…). ;c)

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 09:55:48

    Hey Mary – LOL! I sure did turn my back on the shoveling. Now I have to go make up for it. But at least my arm isn’t sore anymore – well, for now.

    Susan – LOL! I wasn’t feeling pissed off at all, that’s the funny part. I was too freakin’ tired!!
    Your plant stories always crack me up. Because I have visions of grandeur re: plants too, and they end up with minds of their own!
    I’m working on the camera stuff!

    Lynne – Wisteria comes and goes real fast in the spring so you have to watch for it – it’s usually purple and drapes down (well, as you can see).
    Yup, arms still attached!

    Jayne – I’ll post when I learn more! Don’t worry, I’m not going to throw snow balls. I’m going to join you soon – well, at least go to a warmer climate!

    Reply

  9. Sandy
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 17:48:13

    I like your new name!!
    Shoveling isn’t so bad, it is the damn cold that makes it miserable.
    You will enjoy using the manual settings on your camera, after you get used to doing it.

    We just had the most beautiful purple and orange sunset, but it is hard to get a good western shot from here, so I just admired it.

    Reply

  10. Pam
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 19:15:06

    Sandy – the funny thing is I’m not even mad!
    I don’t mind shoveling once a day, but I shoveled too many times in a 24 hour period, such that my arms are still really store.
    I’m enjoying playing with the manual mode. I like being able to play with the light and shadows on things.
    Your sunset sounds gorgeous! Thanks for sharing it with me in words. Our sunset was pleasant, too – not gorgeous, but pleasantly yellow and orange.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

