Forced End to My Strike

Okay, I was forced to end the strike. After going out and doing stuff today, I came home to “drip, drip, drip.” WTF. “Drip, drip, drip.” Oh crap. Water was dripping in via the sliding glass door molding. Don’t ask. I don’t know. I AM going to write to “Ask This Old House” because I can’t get anyone to tell me how to fix this. I mean *everything* is fixable, right? Oh, and yes, back to the forced end to my strike, I had to go out and get the snow off the roof. Maybe that was the problem, I don’t know. I’m too tired to think about it now. However, I *did* not shovel. Let me just say that it is so cold that snow is sticking to everything.

2007-02-15 053

Oh, so one of the things I did today was go to an employment agency that one of my friends works through. I walk in and the receptionist be-och says “whaddayaneed?” Huh? What. Do. I. Need? Not, “Hello, may I help you?” What. Do. I. Need? Hmmm, here’s my list of What. I. Need. It begins with people learning manners. I know some people don’t have manners anymore, but it still always shocks me.

Okay, the thing that generated me *going* in to an employment agency is I’m not getting any hits on sending in my resume, etc. to these places online or via email. I figure if they can see me, they’ll say “we have to hire her!” That and my list of wants keeps growing and growing and growing. . . the latest want being a DSLR! I mean, I can’t take fantastic photos with a point & shoot now can I? Well, I can try, and I will keep trying, but I *know* I can do better.

I’ve rambled on enough. I will be taking photos somewhere this weekend so I have something better to tell you and show you other than this tiring snow.

Here’s another Wisteria photo, this one from Wave Hill, taken on April 30, 2006:

HT06 WH 071

I sooooooooooo cannot wait until spring.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 21:50:26

    Pam, don’t you just love the professionalism of the current workforce? “whaddayaneed?” Someone needs to give that person a lesson…

    Sorry about the drip drip drip. That causes frustration but it can be fixed, I’m sure. You just need to have a “professional” person see it. A month before we put our house on the market in Delaware, a nor’easter came through and I had a drip drip streaming drip through the light fixture above the kitchen table and wet spots on the ceiling. Been there.

    I have been in the unemployment ranks, too, and I agree with you. All they need to do is meet you and you get the job! But the hard part is getting that freaking interview! I experienced unemployment in DE and NC because they didn’t meet my wonderful self LOL!

    Think Spring. It’s a comin!

    Reply

  2. Laura
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 22:09:51

    I don’t think I’ve ever seen a wisteria in white – it’s very pretty!

    What kind of job are you looking for?

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 22:22:37

    Mary – it kind of shocks me to be greeted like that in a supposed professional office. I called my friend afterwards and asked him what kind of place it was he was working for. He said there’s another be-och there, but beyond those two, the other people are nice.
    Thanks for telling me you had drip drip, too. That helps to know I’m not the only one that has ever had to deal with this!
    LOL about people meeting your wonderful self! I believe it’s true! People need to meet me and realize I’m not another run of the mill person.
    I love seeing your photos because it makes me believe spring is coming! Thanks!

    Laura – I love white wisteria, too. I only see it in purple here.
    I put in for an engineering job. Unfortunately the market here is glutted with unemployed engineers due to continued lay-offs from Xerox and Kodak. But Harris is hiring so I’m hoping. . . Not that I want to do engineering work anymore. I’d rather be doing a job in horticulture or in an historical society. But hort work isn’t a year-round job here which makes it makes it tough. I’ve been working in an historical society for the last year doing everything they need done there but they’re always strapped for money so they don’t pay well. Long-winded answer to a quick question, huh?

    Reply

  4. Mon@rch
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 22:45:00

    I could so hear that person saying that! Sorry you had to deal with that! today Ugg! Then the drip drip drip! That can really get you going trying to figure out how to fix it! Ugg, Hey, dSLR’s are great but do note that I still love the photos that I take with my point and shoot camera! But, you know all your blogging buddies will help you when you make the change! whaddayneed is that engineering job or better yet your horticulture job but then you will not have time to take pictures! Always a catch 22!!

    Reply

  5. Ruth
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 23:15:04

    I would shovel the driveway twice before removing snow from the roof of our house. I agree with Monarch, I take way more pictures with my little HP photosmart R818 that is in my pocket all the time than with my big fancy Canon.

    Reply

  6. Susan Gets Native
    Feb 16, 2007 @ 23:19:00

    First:
    Laughing out loud that you said “WTF”.
    Thirty seconds later:
    Spitting my Coke onto my keyboard because you said “Be-och”.
    Is it me, or are we all cussing a lot more lately?
    Is it the weather, or are we all just getting more comfortable with each other?

    Engineering??????
    YOU are a woman of many hats, dear Pam.

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 01:11:21

    Mon@rch – I know it is a catch 22 – working at an eng. job will definitely cut down on the photos / blogging and emailing. But I’ll make up for it somehow. 😉

    Ruth, I have a roof rake which makes it much easier to get the snow off of the roof, but it is a pain to do it. It did help cut down on the dripping to get the snow off. It will be a ways off that I’ll look into a dSLR. I know it’s much easier to carry a P&S around.

    Susan – did you get the coke cleaned off your keyboard yet? Ewww, sticky keys! I start dropping F bombs when I’m really irritated. And be-och is just part of my normal every day conversation when a girl is acting like a rag. Or maybe I’ve been watching too many “Scrubs” episodes lately when I’m totally too tired to do anything else.
    I think my “increased vocabulary” is a combo of comfortableness, being housebound and being irritated with snow/rude people.
    Ohh, I never did tell you what I do, did I? I’m an engineer of the electrical kind. I also have a degree in horticulture but that’s very hard work, long hours and little pay. I get bored very easily so I have too many interests.

    Reply

  8. jason
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 09:37:48

    The wisteria is beautiful, Pam. But more importantly, I laughed uproariously when I got to “be-och.” How so very true. It’s like manners got outlawed or something.

    I’m with you on the dSLR change. I too am ready to upgrade. Yet Mon@rch is right: I’ll keep the point-and-shoot camera since it’s a great tool. Still, it’ll be nice to have something more powerful to do justice to those scenes my little Canon just can’t handle.

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 10:18:42

    Thanks Jason – and I’m glad I made you laugh uproariously! That’s a good way of putting it, I think manners have been outlawed myself.

    OMG Jason now I’m thinking P&S upgrade, and also dSLR. I”m very frustrated with getting a great bird from far away and ending up with a lousy photo.

    Reply

  10. Jim McCulloch
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 11:18:32

    I have mostly lived in warm climates and have no experience with snow on a roof, but I have a sorta vicarious experience from my grandmother, who lived to be 104, who had a story from her childhood about the perils of roof snow. This was in northern Missouri, before global warming, so evidently snow accumulated on roofs in Missouri in those days, and her father went up on their roof to shovel snow and the pitch of the roof was such that he took the precaution of tying a rope around his waist and handing the end to my grandmother, who was 7 or 8, and was supposed to go the to other side of the house and make a couple of turns around a fence post with the rope and then hold on to the end of it. Well, she forgot to hold the end of it, so that when her father slipped and fell she remembered watching fascinated as the rope-end accelerated away from her, whipping around the fencepost to the sound of an loud but indistinct yell from her father as he plunged over the far edge of the roof. Fortunately he survived.
    But anyway her story would make me wary, personally, of going up on a roof to shovel snow. good luck and be careful.

    Reply

  11. Sandy
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 11:58:14

    Spring in just over a month!!!
    We are up to 32º for the first time in a long while.
    Do something fun today that has nothing to do with snow, or weather!

    Reply

  12. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 17:48:53

    Electrical engineering AND horticulture?!? Wow- you are an amazing woman Pam!
    Don’t get me sarted on manners. OK, too late. Here’s my short list:
    –People in retail that don’t say thank you after I make a purchase.
    –People on the phone who don’t use the hold button but instead slam the receiver down on the counter.
    –People who rush onto the elevator without letting the riders off first.
    –Gum smacking. Anywhere.

    Reply

  13. Pam
    Feb 17, 2007 @ 22:17:56

    Jim – that’s quite a story – I’m glad your great grandfather was okay. My Dad goes climbing all over his steeply pitched roofs and it drives me crazy. Even in winter.
    Thanks for your concern about getting snow off of my roof. I have a small two story home, so the roof is reachable with a roof rake, so I don’t have to climb up on a ladder or on the roof at all – thankfully, because I don’t like being on ladders.

    Sandy – oh that’s glorious news! Spring is coming soon. We’re supposed to get up to 38º next week – I sure hope the forecast doesn’t change. I did something real fun today!

    Lynne – yes, I am one messed up woman, huh? Can’t decide what I want to do when I grow up. I’ve had a couple of other careers in there, too. I wanna play (work) outside all day, that’s all I know. But to get someone to pay me enough money to live on without killing myself with the hours is another story.
    Oh, your list of rude things is on my long list of rude things too. The art of saying “please” and “thank you” is definitely lost. And to top it off, I actually get made fun of for saying “please” and “thank you” by some people.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

