Five Things, Plus a Few More

I saw this on Laurie’s Don’t MAKE Me Get My Flying Monkeys and Mary’s View. The thing is to list at least five things that most people don’t know about me. I was thinking about this while doing the treadmill this morning. Some people probably know this stuff if they’ve followed my blog for a while.

1. I play the piano and have since I was real young after I saw one of my cousins play so well, but I had to play in public way too many times (not any more) because people thought I was good at it.

2. I’m a Master Herbalist and was invited to go to the Amazon rainforest by James Duke, and I turned it down because I don’t do bugs. Down there to show respect to the Shaman, you have to *eat* bugs. I don’t do bugs on my skin, why would I do bugs in my insides? I would love to go to the part of Brazil where Rosa is from sometime, though!

3. I love several types of music from “head-banging” (for a great workout, cleaning house and driving) to blues (B.B. King is one of the best) to classical (Beethoven, Mozart, Tchaikovsky, etc.). I however, hate rap and whatever else it is the 18 year olds listen to. Whatever it is, it messes with my brain waves big time (I had to listen to it at the gym one day and thought I was going to go insane).

4. I’m still trying to figure out what I want to do when I grow up. And I’m never going to grow up – that’s boring!

5. Thanks to my French-Canadian heritage from both of my parents I started getting silver hair when I was 18. My brothers and cousins are getting silver, too. I started coloring my hair because my brothers made fun of me, and then it got so tenacious I stopped (i.e. I would color it one day and the next day the white part would be showing through again). Now people think I’m old and I’m not and I don’t care. I do hate it when baggers at the grocery store ask me if I want the bags to be packed light or if I need help getting them to my vehicle. Let me show you what I can handle punk as I throw the heaviest bag over your head. I mean, “no thank you” I can handle the heavy bags myself.

6. I am a really nice person even though it doesn’t seem that way sometimes (like my comment above).

7. I don’t have a ton of friends, but the friends I do have I care about very much. That includes my blogging friends I’ve known for a while now and the ones I am getting to know now! 🙂
8. I am ferociously independent, to a fault sometimes.

9. I am a major tree hugger. And for all of you who will be seeing me sometime this year, here’s what I look like, except I have bangs now and cut my hair shorter. Argh, I can’t believe I’m posting this.

WC-08-2005_sm

10. And I am ferociously private, and can’t believe I’m telling you any of this stuff and showing you my photo. But I still maintain most of my privacy! 😉 Now I’m off to hide somewhere for a while.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mon@rch
    Feb 19, 2007 @ 16:15:05

    Soo good to see you and great to learn so much about you! BTW: We never grow up!!

    Reply

  2. Sandy
    Feb 19, 2007 @ 16:44:44

    Pam,
    Sounds like you have had a pretty interesting life for someone who hasn’t grown up yet! I don’t blame you on the bug thing. That is not a place I would want to go. What do you want to do in Brazil?

    Reply

  3. Pam
    Feb 19, 2007 @ 16:51:02

    Thanks Mon@rch! You’re one of the ones I posted the photo for so you’d know who to expect when I come down someday soon! Glad you don’t think we grow up either!

    Thanks Sandy. I would love to see the plants we see in conservatories here in their natural habitat in Brazil.

    Reply

  4. jayne
    Feb 19, 2007 @ 18:11:00

    All interesting and fascinating stuff Pam! Lovely photo too! Now I have to get to work on my list… hmmmmm…. Mary’s really started something here.

    Reply

  5. Pam
    Feb 19, 2007 @ 18:33:16

    Jayne – thank you! It will be fun to learn more about you.

    Reply

  6. dmmgmfm(Laurie)
    Feb 19, 2007 @ 18:47:12

    I always say I don’t know what I’m going to be if I grow up.

    I love your picture (we have the same hair) and I also hate whatever the 18 year old crowd is listening to. It gives me a major headache. The techno stuff my son loves does the same thing.

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Feb 19, 2007 @ 19:27:02

    Laurie – Good I’m not alone!
    Cool – I thought I was the only one on the planet with my hair!
    Techno stuff is a good description for whatever it is they listen to. I couldn’t think of a good way of describing it.

    Reply

  8. Mary
    Feb 19, 2007 @ 21:51:06

    Pam, I love you – you are a gem. I laughed throughout the whole reveal! LOL! Who cares if your hair is silver? – mine is too, unnaturally. And I’m still trying to figure out what I want to be when I grow up. It’s a hard decision, isn’t it?

    I love the part when you wanted to beat up the kind person who wanted to lift your bags, “Let me show you what I can handle punk as I throw the heaviest bag over your head.”

    I LOVE YOUR SPUNK. COME OUT FROM HIDING.

    Reply

  9. Laura
    Feb 19, 2007 @ 22:06:39

    You look beautiful in silver hugging that tree – happy to see you!

    Somehow, the bug thing really surprises me about you – I get that you don’t want to have to eat any, but turning down a chance to see the rainforest? Ohh that must have been tough to do.

    I’ve always wanted to be able to play the piano well – took lessons but didn’t have the discipline. What type of music do you like to play?

    Reply

  10. Susan Gets Native
    Feb 19, 2007 @ 22:56:16

    Grow up? What’s that?

    I loved this. You post tiny little bits about yourself and I always have questions, but knowing your thing about privacy, I keep my mouth (fingers) shut.
    I love silver hair! I have little streaks that are trying to take over my head, but I refuse. I mean, I’m 34 for goshsakes.
    I wonder if I can come up with anything that no one knows about me?

    Head banger! ALLLLLLL RIIIIIIGHT!!!!!

    Reply

  11. Pam
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 08:01:53

    Mary – Thanks Mary – believe me, I love you too! I figure I’ll be dead before I figure out what it is I really want to do when I grow up, but I’m having fun figuring it out (even though it is frustrating at times). Some people just seem to know right off the bat what they want to do. Oh well.
    I’ll probably come out from hiding while we’re at Cape May!

    Laura – Thank you! You are so kind. Yes, I know, it was really tough giving up the rainforest visit just over a few bugs, but Rosa said she would take me there without having to eat the bugs.
    I love playing classical and ragtime on the piano. I can really get that thing to rocking with some of the stuff I play. I used to be afraid when I was in public that I would break an old rickety piano I used to have to play on at the NYS Fair Grounds.

    Susan – LOL! I swear saying that will keep us all young! Ask away girlfriend – other people sent me private emails asking more questions.
    I know, I refused to let the grey take over for quite a while, but after getting it colored and then the next day I had major roots I decided it wasn’t worth the money anymore!
    Oh yeah, head banger girlfriend! I blow people away with that because I’m so quiet, but I can get the woofers to rockin real good in my house and my truck (I love base the best).

    Reply

  12. Mary
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 09:07:25

    Oh, I’m a base lover, too. The louder, the better. Rock on, sista!

    Reply

  13. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 09:55:16

    I loved reading these parts of you that you haven’t shared before! I still think about what I’d like to be when I grow up too- I don’t ever want to feel like I’m done growing up. The silver haired picture of beautiful you with that beautiful tree is just pefectly how I’d pictured you!

    Reply

  14. Mary
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 10:26:55

    Pam, you look tall. But of course everyone looks tall to my 5-1 stature. How tall are you?

    Reply

  15. Pam
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 10:48:27

    Mary – I used to blow the woofers out in my car when I was young. It’s a wonder I can hear now! Oh, we’re going to have a great time in Cape May!
    Oh, and I’m 5’6″. I don’t think I’m tall because most of my friends are all taller than me! I have to crawl on the bed to remove the sheets and make my queen-sized bed.

    Lynne – something nature related, I’m sure – for both of us. Just trying to figure out what to make enough money to support my travel bug and electronic habits. Oh and eating and the whole roof over the head thing, too.
    Wow, I can’t believe I matched how you pictured me! That’s cool!

    Reply

  16. endment
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 12:04:59

    Great responses 🙂 I am still grinning about most of them.

    Love your silver hair!!!

    Reply

  17. robin andrea
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 12:08:00

    Thanks so much for stopping by the Dharma Bums today and contributing to the conversation. My first time here, so I feel very lucky to arrive on a day when you are revealing yourself. I have silver hair too! I’ve been silver since I was in my late 30s. Not a lot of friends either, but the ones I have are close and loved. I would love to know more about herbs, and am delighted to read that you are a master herbalist.

    About growing old, it’s definitely not necessary.

    Reply

  18. Pam
    Feb 20, 2007 @ 18:52:23

    Thank you Endment – I’m glad you left grinning!

    Robin – thank *you* for stopping by. Us silver haired, but definitely not old people have to stick together!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

