George Eastman House – The Discovery Room

In one of the rooms on the second floor of the George Eastman House International Museum of Photography & Film is the discovery room where kids of all sizes and ages can play with different cameras and things. Nobody was in there for a while, so I took the opportunity to play and photograph. First up, I love this old poster and sign saying you can actually touch the cameras!

2007-02-24-086_crop_sm

2007-02-24-087_crop_sm

Next is a Stereoscopic viewer – which, as you probably already know, has two side by side images that are exactly the same, and when viewed through the viewer it looks like one 3-D image. My Mom has one of these and I *love* it. She has some awesome stereoscopic cards from Yosemite. Please scroll down one image if you want to read about the Stereoscope.

2007-02-24-088_crop_sm

2007-02-24-088_crop2_sm

Next I looked into the Mutoscope which featured ‘Felix the Cat.’

2007-02-24-095_crop_sm

2007-02-24-094_crop_sm

I took a couple of photos of the show:

2007-02-24-096_crop_sm

The bag hanging on the other side of the tree is full of bees. Felix doesn’t open the bag, but the other animal featured in the movie does and has to run like heck after he peeks in the bag and realizes it’s full of bees. I would have taken more photos of this, but somebody came into the room and stood right next to me. I so don’t understand the herding instinct of humans and why people have to be right next to me waiting to do what I’m doing when the rest of the room is empty. It is something I don’t do at all.

2007-02-24-097_crop_sm

2007-02-24-098_crop_sm

And there was the Thaumatrope which is something like the Mutoscope. No photo because I would have caught the humans that were harboring close by to me in the photo. I don’t like unknown people in my photos!
2007-02-24-099_crop_sm

You can also make a sunprint here, which looks really cool!:

2007-02-24-090_crop_sm

2007-02-24-091_crop_sm

2007-02-24-092_crop_sm

2007-02-24-093_crop_sm

I’d like to make a sunprint next time I go there! I’ll have to bring in one of my plant pressings to use.  This room is fun! There was more but the big humans were still in the way.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. endment
    Feb 26, 2007 @ 09:24:52

    This looks like so much fun! You have inspired me – The Eastman house is now on my list of weekend trips
    Thanks for a delightful post

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Feb 26, 2007 @ 09:28:24

    Endment – You’re welcome. It is a great deal of fun – and I still have more to show from my visit. You will really enjoy it. By the way, you’re allowed to take photographs of anything you would like, except the photograph exhibitions.

    Reply

  3. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Feb 26, 2007 @ 10:13:06

    That looks like a really fun display! I have seen stereoscopes before but have never heard of mutoscopes or thaumatropes! Show us your sunprints when you make them!

    Reply

  4. Ruth
    Feb 26, 2007 @ 14:16:32

    Fascinating! I love museums and a hands-on one is best. I vaguely remember doing sun prints years ago, perhaps at school or at Girl Guides.

    Reply

  5. Sandy
    Feb 26, 2007 @ 18:20:48

    Looks like a fun place. Wouldn’t a fern make a nice sun print?

    Reply

  6. Mon@rch
    Feb 26, 2007 @ 19:43:27

    Discover room with cameras? Now that’s what we are talking about! How fun this had to have been after you have been playign with your camera! Sunprints, now that’s even more fun!

    Reply

  7. Mary
    Feb 26, 2007 @ 21:36:54

    Pam – no field trip better than this one! Hands-on camera? Right down our alley. Please send more and include your sunprint. That’s fascinating. I loved this field trip. You are so entertaining…when I needed it.

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Feb 26, 2007 @ 21:49:44

    Lynne – it was fun until people start coming in! I’ll be sure to show you the sunprints!

    Ruth – hands on is the best! I swear I love playing with the gadgets more than the kids do!

    Sandy – oh yeah, a fern would make a great sunprint. I’ll have to bring one next time.

    Mon@rch – oh yeah, wait ’til you see what else I saw there! Makes you want to come to Rochester for more than Braddock’s Bay now doesn’t it?

    Mary – I’m glad I entertained you – I have a few more posts on my visit there! The whole place is right up our alley!

    Reply

  9. laurie
    Feb 26, 2007 @ 21:59:41

    Oh wow, that is soooo cool! Thank you for taking us along with you, Pam.

    Reply

  10. Pam
    Feb 26, 2007 @ 22:05:02

    Laurie – it was! You’re welcome Laurie! There’s more to come. . .

    Reply

  11. Susan Gets Native
    Feb 26, 2007 @ 22:55:43

    My Dad would have loved that place. If he hadn’t had to “work” for a living, he would have been a professional photographer. I wonder if he ever went to the Eastman House. *note to self: Ask Mom.*

    Thank goodness for George Eastman, huh? Where would our photos be if he hadn’t existed?

    Reply

  12. jayne
    Feb 27, 2007 @ 06:44:12

    Please touch! What a refreshing display of fun!

    Reply

  13. Pam
    Feb 27, 2007 @ 10:36:23

    Susan – that’s cool about your Dad. I think you would love it too given you like to take photos, too. I did a term paper on the “History of Photography” in 8th grade. I sure wish I had that paper to see what I wrote. I’ve always been interested in photography and the miracle of the whole process! And as you know, I *LOVE* photos, old and new!

    Jayne – I loved that sign. How often do we see that type of sign? It was refreshing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

