George Eastman House – The House

I’m taking a little break from the topic of photography today to show you the various rooms of George Eastman’s home. The first room I walked in to was the dining room, and the first thing I saw was the beautiful original mahogany table and chandelier:

2007-02-24 001

I love the symmetry of this room. The walls are lime-washed carved oak:

2007-02-24 134

And the ceiling is elaborate plaster strapwork:

2007-02-24 133

The next room I walked in to was the Conservatory, but I already blogged about that. After the Conservatory was the Billiard Room. (It’s starting to sound like Clue, isn’t it, Miss Scarlet with the candlestick in the Billiard Room). The billiard room has teak paneling, among many other things I didn’t photograph (yet):

2007-02-24 038

Are you getting that this is definitely a man’s home?

2007-02-24 039

There is a fireplace in this room, but with the ropes keeping us in like cattle, it was hard to take even a somewhat decent photo of it. The next room is on the list of my favs, the Library:

2007-02-24 041

Again with the ropes, so I am using the mirror to show you more of the room than I could photograph:

2007-02-24 043

I love globes,

2007-02-24 047

And what’s that beautiful old book in the corner with the colorful flower photos? Hmmm, I don’t know, do you? I love the brightness of the flowers.

2007-02-24 045_crop

From the library I walked in to the main foyer, with the grand mahogany staircase, and boy do I love the symmetry here!

2007-02-24 048

The finials on top of the newell posts are beautiful!

2007-02-24 049

Walk up the stairs, and you can go left or right – how cool is that? I walked up the stairs, then took a photo looking down into the conservatory from the top:

2007-02-24 066

Look at the spindles and you’ll see they’re not all the same – they represent the ropes on a ship!

2007-02-24 065

Next I walked into George Eastman’s mother’s walk-in closet, and spied hat boxes. The cool thing about these hat boxes is they are from local businesses – stores / businesses that no longer exist:

2007-02-24 057

2007-02-24 058

I walked into the bathroom, but didn’t feel very photographic at that point because, well, I hate bathrooms anyway, and I didn’t think you’d want to see a photo of a john, a sink, or a tub – boring, right? So I walked into her bedroom, and spied this very old sampler from 1831 I’ve been hearing about for a while:

2007-02-24 060_crop

This is a really pretty room done in roses as you can see:

2007-02-24 061

I love full length mirrors so you can see what you look like coming and going before you leave your room:

2007-02-24 062

Back out in the upstairs hallway, I could look up into the third floor through this oculus (oval opening) in the ceiling:

2007-02-24 063

Okay, back down the gorgeous staircase and into the living room:

2007-02-24 102

Hmmm, doesn’t look like my living room. This living room looks like a ballroom to me, with its oak floor, center table with French-polish finish, original chandelier and wall coverings of silk damask. I love the original Steinway grand piano:

2007-02-24 103

and the ceiling medallions, one in each corner, each one representing the four seasons:

2007-02-24 104

I love the detail around the doorway:

2007-02-24 106

Back out in the hallway, I walked underneath the staircase, and found these Aeolian Pipe Organ Duo-Art Music boxes – note: I am now in back of the Aeolian Pipe Organ which is in the conservatory. An Aeolian Pipe Organ is an automatic, self-playing organ.

2007-02-24 113

That’s it for now for the house. I left the main part of the house through this colonnade:

2007-02-24 138

I stopped and looked to the right and I saw the beautiful doorway leading out to the gardens:

2007-02-24 141

And here ends the tour of George Eastman’s home. I’ll get back to cameras and photography tomorrow!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mary
    Mar 01, 2007 @ 21:36:35

    Pam, my God! Yes, it’s a man’s house but absolutely breathtaking. You captured the whole essence of it in one tour. Those hat boxes are very interesting, too. This is the type of house where a butler, gardener, cook, house cleaner, etc. is needed? It’ll never happen in MY lifetime!

    Reply

  2. Laura
    Mar 01, 2007 @ 22:18:54

    I can see myself living there!

    I’ve missed a lot here these past few days and have some reading to do t catch up.

    Reply

  3. Mon@rch
    Mar 01, 2007 @ 22:21:16

    Pam – I know you’re not talking about photography but all such wonderful pictures your taking of this amazing house! I agree with Mary that you captured the tour perfectly! Wouldn’t it be great to have all those people? Then again, I would rather be down sized out traveling around the world checking out the critters! Keep up the great work!

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Mar 01, 2007 @ 22:29:33

    Good Lord!
    What is the value of the house and all the stuff in it?

    *Looking around my office in the basement of a drafty leaky house and feeling very poor.*

    Reply

  5. dmmgmfm(Laurie)
    Mar 01, 2007 @ 22:34:00

    I feel as if I’ve been on the tour myself. What wonderful photos and descriptions you’ve given us. Thank you!

    Reply

  6. Sandy
    Mar 02, 2007 @ 08:09:07

    These are good photos, Pam. I love the white woodwork and the ceilings best. Guess I just love details!

    Reply

  7. Pam
    Mar 02, 2007 @ 10:02:12

    Mary – It is breathtaking and I had forgotten how beautiful and symmetrical it is (can you tell I love symmetry)? The servants lived on the third floor – a floor that we’re not allowed to go on, unfortunately!

    Laura – Me too! As long as I was extremely rich and had people doing everything for me so I was “married” to taking care of the house.

    Mon@rch – Thanks! I used the manual mode for all of them so it didn’t require the flash at all (I don’t like flash anyway). Yeah it would be great to have all of those people. Downsized is cool, too! I’m for living the simple life, too. But if I were filthy rich. . .

    Susan – you did the same thing I did when I got to the living room photos. Here I am in my comfy little living room and they call “that” a living room? Has to be a ballroom and music room and etc. etc. all in one!

    Laurie – You’re welcome! That’s good – I was hoping I was going a good enough job of showing you the house.

    Sandy – Thank you. I love the ceilings and woodwork, too. They look so clean and new there I’m glad they keep it up so well.

    Reply

  8. endment
    Mar 02, 2007 @ 11:26:00

    I think I would like to live there for a few years 🙂

    Reply

  9. Pam
    Mar 02, 2007 @ 11:33:37

    Endment – me too! I love the idea of eating breakfast in the conservatory while the Aeolian Pipe Organ is playing something beautiful – just as George Eastman did.

    Reply

  10. Ruth
    Mar 02, 2007 @ 12:50:28

    Lovely home, but the library! Wow! My favourite room.

    Reply

  11. Pam
    Mar 02, 2007 @ 12:58:54

    Ruth – I know! The library is to die for! Did you notice there is a card catalog next to the globe? I should have mentioned that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

