George Eastman House – Machines of Memory Exhibition, Part I

I stopped in at the “Machines of Memory” Exhibition at the George Eastman House:

2007-02-24 170_crop3

This is one of the first things I saw, no sign, but it looks like one of those coin operated moving picture machines. I like the wooden cabinet.

2007-02-24 146

Next I spied signs above each display case. Notice what the words are printed on:

2007-02-24 148_crop2

It’s was hard to take photos of each complete display case, and head on was out because of the reflection, so I’m giving you partial sideviews:

2007-02-24 147

Display #2
2007-02-24 149_crop2

2007-02-24 150

Here’s an old fashioned movie camera. Hmmm, I just noticed the little sign I should have taken a photo of so I know exactly what this is!

2007-02-24 151

Some cool old stuff, huh? I’ll be back with more later!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. dmmgmfm(Laurie)
    Mar 02, 2007 @ 19:01:29

    I learn so much from reading your blog. Thank you!

    Reply

  2. Mary
    Mar 02, 2007 @ 21:54:29

    My first comment didn’t come through. First, Pam, I love the new look of your blog. Can you increase the font size? My eyes aren’t what they used to be. LOL!

    It’s hard to believe that wonderful photos were published, possibly in the Life Magazine, from this camera equipment. Very tedious and cumbersome.

    You are a gem and a wealth of info! Keep it coming!

    Reply

  3. Susan Gets Native
    Mar 02, 2007 @ 22:06:10

    What a cool place. You lucky thing. Are you planning on moving in?
    And I like the tropic theme.

    Reply

  4. Pam
    Mar 02, 2007 @ 22:16:35

      Laurie

    – you’re welcome! Thanks for visiting!

      Mary

    – don’t you hate it when you have to retype a comment. That happens to me, too. I don’t know if I’ll keep this theme, but if I do I’ll work on the font size. Spring needs to arrive. I’m bored with everything, including my blog theme! No, I can’t believe they used to take photos for magazines with this old type of equipment.

      Susan

    – I think I’ll pack my bags and announce my arrival tomorrow. LOL! Thanks, I like the theme, too. But I might switch to another theme. I’m playing around with themes right now.

    Reply

  5. Sandy
    Mar 03, 2007 @ 10:49:37

    I like this template better! This one came up when I hit comment.
    Thought you were trying to tell us you were headed for Hawaii for a bit.

    I remember those old movie cameras. Not much of rest, though.

    Reply

  6. Sandy
    Mar 03, 2007 @ 10:51:40

    This one is nice too!!!!!

    Reply

  7. Sandy
    Mar 03, 2007 @ 10:52:24

    Back to Hawaii?

    Reply

  8. Pam
    Mar 03, 2007 @ 12:33:07

    Sandy – you caught me playing with templates – sorry about that! I’m still not happy with this one – it’s kind of bland! I found a really nice spring one but the blogroll doesn’t work. I might customize my own here soon.
    And the Hawaii one is really cool but the text is hard to read with the background. It has a desert one and a sky one, too, but same thing with those.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

