My George Eastman Posts Receive a Response, Blowing Snow Video

Today I received a comment on my post here from Dresden Engle, Public Relations Manager, George Eastman House which I found very interesting and I thought you would, too!

Dear Pam,
THANK YOU for sharing your images of George Eastman House with the world (and your devoted readers).

Please allow me to answers two questions, one posted here and one from a late entry:

The Kodak camera of 1888 was loaded for 100 exposures. That camera cost $25, which was about six-weeks wages at the time. Processing was an additional $10. While it did mark the start of mass photography, the camera was expensive for most yet easy to use, sold using Eastman’s clever slogan, “You Press the Button, We Do The Rest.”

The Brownie of 1900, however, truly marked the birth of popular photographer, as it sold for $1 and film for 15 cents. Please note, however, the camera was loaded with only six exposures. Yet, it was a quality camera and a hit with children and adults alike. Eastman knew children were the future of photography, naming the camera after an elfin storybook character created by British author Palmer Cox. He included children in advertisements and noted in ad copy language such as, “The Brownie can we operated by most any schoolboy or schoolgirl.” Eastman also marketed to women, an novelty at the time …

To answer the question about what happened to the Brownie, Kodak produced and sold more than 150 models of the Brownie worldwide from 1900 until 1970, the last year the Brownie was manufactured.

Regarding the motion picture machine you saw in the Machines of Memory gallery, which you referred to as a “coin operated moving picture machine,” it is in fact an Edison Kinetoscope from 1894. The Kinetoscope is one of the earliest commercially produced motion picture systems, and used film Eastman adapted from his 1888 Kodak camera. The label was there, just posted on top of the case and clearly too high for you to see. We’ll see what we can do about moving it lower …

Thank you, again, for featuring Eastman House and our collection!

Dresden Engle, Public Relations Manager,
George Eastman House

Today I woke up to blowing and drifting snow and white-outs. And even though I vowed not to take anymore photos or videos of snow here’s a video of the trees blowing around in back.


Click To Play

Spring will be here soon, it really will! I know it will be!

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Mar 05, 2007 @ 18:44:13

    Guess you never know who is reading your blog, huh? That was very nice of him to answer the questions.

    You are getting another storm today? We have had a couple of squalls, but basically it was a sunny day.

    Are you feeling better? Hope you are not out shovelling.

    Reply

  2. Pam
    Mar 05, 2007 @ 20:01:27

    Sandy – No, I don’t know who is reading, but am glad for this information.
    Yes, I’m getting another cold, blowing storm today. Hopefully I won’t get too much snow or it could be a blizzard. The white-outs were bad enough. Glad it was sunny for you today!
    The cough is dissipating and I’m just letting the snow blow around and clear itself off the part of the deck that I walk on.

    Reply

  3. mon@rch
    Mar 05, 2007 @ 20:24:06

    Hey, great minds think alike! I did a snow video also! LOL! Very bad driving in this stuff! Did I hear those tree’s asking for spring weather?

    Hey, this is so wonderful that the PR person from George Eastman house commented on your photostream! I can never get enough info on photography and how wonderful that they were able to answer some of those questions! Hope they visit again and give us more details!

    Reply

  4. Susan Gets Native
    Mar 05, 2007 @ 21:27:49

    Whoa! How cool is that?????
    Maybe they will ask you to come work for them in their PR department.
    : ) How awesome would THAT be?

    The video hypnotized me. And I am so glad I’m not there!

    Reply

  5. Mary
    Mar 05, 2007 @ 21:34:50

    Pam, that is so nice of him to comment on your blog. You are right – you never know who’s reading. Wow! That’s pretty cool.

    Your video with the sounds of the winds bending those trees bring back my memories of past storms like that. Shivers!

    I wish it would STOP! (FOR YOUR SAKE)

    Reply

  6. Pam
    Mar 05, 2007 @ 22:00:41

    Susan – I thought it was very cool, too! I wonder if they need someone like me who could blog about the wonderfulness of the Museum and gardens! I think it would be awesome!
    I can’t believe how the wind is whipping the trees around. It still is. It is freaking me out.

    Mary – I thought is was really nice of him to comment, too. The world is bigger than my blogging friends, huh!
    I agree, the trees blowing is giving me the shivers, too. In fact, I think it’s time to crawl under the covers and hope it goes away before tomorrow morning!

    Reply

  7. Laura
    Mar 05, 2007 @ 22:21:21

    You’ve had enough snow – send it my way!

    😉

    How cool that your photos and writing were noticed and appreciated by someone besides us *regulars*!

    Reply

  8. laurie
    Mar 05, 2007 @ 22:21:33

    Wow, that is an awesome video. How stark and unwelcoming the snow looks and that tree is really taking a battering.

    The comment was awesome. You are famous darlin’. 🙂

    Reply

  9. Laura
    Mar 05, 2007 @ 22:21:38

    Like the tulips too!

    Reply

  10. Ruth
    Mar 05, 2007 @ 22:51:33

    Mr. Engel should offer you a commission for all the people you will influence to visit the Eastman house.
    I think today was the coldest, windiest day of the winter here in SW Ontario. Most roads outside the city are closed due to whiteouts and the temp is going to be -26C tonight. This tardy winter is not ending!

    Reply

  11. jayne
    Mar 06, 2007 @ 06:47:43

    Well, how nice that they read about your visit and wrote to answer your questions. Hang on… spring IS coming Pam. :c)

    Reply

  12. Pam
    Mar 06, 2007 @ 10:01:23

    Laura – I’d be more than happy to shift this weather down to you. Do you want the cold and wind to go along with it? Glad you like my tulips. Those are from the George Eastman House conservatory.

    Laurie – I don’t like seeing the canopy trees blowing around like that – it makes me really nervous. I loved the comment, too!

    Ruth – commission would be nice, or a job like Susan mentioned! Hope you stay warm today! It feels like -18F now – too cold for me! I hope it ends soon!

    Jayne – I thought it was really nice, too! Thanks Jayne – I keep reading your blog to see beautiful things that I know will be here soon!

    Reply

  13. Lynne at Hasty Brook
    Mar 07, 2007 @ 11:02:53

    That is just TOO COOL that the man from Eastman commented on your post!! Your video gave me the shivers- the wind was really tossing those tree tops! We need the southern folks to keep reminding us that spring WILL come!

    Reply

  14. Pam
    Mar 07, 2007 @ 19:31:09

    Lynne – I thought so too!! Seeing the tree tops move around like that gave me the creeps and I couldn’t sleep all that night – seriously. I’m so thankful for our southern friends to keep reminding us that spring is working its way up here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

